Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 29-11-18, 02:58 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
Because of usual doucheness answer from you, the answer to your question is yes.

Of course I’ve read the f*king manual, as you plainly put it in your link, but couldn’t find a straight answer to my question. Hence me asking here... But seeing as everytime I try to ask something I can’t find an answer to on the internet, I always get an ”dummy stamp” response from you.

I ask here because this community consist of people way more experienced and knowledgeable than me. And I do have learned my lessons of doing the research I can, before asking on here.

So I’d advice you to please stop with all of the ”Was it hard to Google” it and if I’ve read the manual or not. Cause I’ve done both.

Now that that’s out of the way, anyone that could give me a clearer picture on this?...
Cause it works with the 8 pin, just not sure what the + 4 pin is really for and if it’s actually required as well or not?...
You thread title was, as usual, not helpful and vague, I edited it for clarity to HELP you get answers, and to help the search engines figure out wtf you're actually asking. instead of "Do I need to" .... and that's it (or whatever it was, it wasn't helpful) etc, having the actual question in the thread title, believe it or not. HELPS YOU.

And point of fact, the answer should be in the manual, I was linking what RTFM meant to avoid the inevitable "what do you mean by rtfm" which you would not have googled. Saying, READ THE MANUAL FOR YOUR MOTHERBOARD is, about as straight up an answer as you're going to get.

How many things do you want a slap on the wrist for here? bypassing the swear filter? insulting a mod/admin?

__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
  #22  
Old 29-11-18, 03:16 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,029
Ok. Just to settle things I went on the ASUS website and downloaded the manual.

https://www.asus.com/uk/Motherboards...lpDesk_Manual/



As you can see in the image above, you need to have the 8-pin installed and that the 4-pin is optional. If I had the extra connector on my PSU I would connect it, but as the manual says, you only need the 8-pin.

Edit/extra info - The extra 4-pin is for supplementary power. It will prevent all of the power entering into the board in a single place and overloading any components while doing heavy overclocks. If you push too much power through a single cable it will get hot, which is why some motherboards use multiple cables to mitigate this.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
  #23  
Old 29-11-18, 03:21 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
You thread title was, as usual, not helpful and vague, I edited it for clarity to HELP you get answers, and to help the search engines figure out wtf you're actually asking. instead of "Do I need to" .... and that's it (or whatever it was, it wasn't helpful) etc, having the actual question in the thread title, believe it or not. HELPS YOU.

And point of fact, the answer should be in the manual, I was linking what RTFM meant to avoid the inevitable "what do you mean by rtfm" which you would not have googled. Saying, READ THE MANUAL FOR YOUR MOTHERBOARD is, about as straight up an answer as you're going to get.

How many things do you want a slap on the wrist for here? bypassing the swear filter? insulting a mod/admin?
You seem to have missed the point of my previous post.

The title I’ve not said anything about you editing it, so not sure about that part.

But just to clarify for you; To me it seemed like you were giving that ”RTFM” as like ”read the manual you dumbhead” or something along those lines. Maybe I missunderstood what you really meant, but that’s how I recieved it.

I also pointed out in previous post what it says in the manual and that it wasn’t an answer to my question.

Anyway, I’ve gotten a reply to my question on here, so as far as this thead goes, I’ve gotten what I came here for.

Also no need to try and threaten me or similar with ”slaps on the wrist”. Thank you though for clarifying the thread title for me.
  #24  
Old 29-11-18, 06:54 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
You seem to have missed the point of my previous post.

The title I’ve not said anything about you editing it, so not sure about that part.

But just to clarify for you; To me it seemed like you were giving that ”RTFM” as like ”read the manual you dumbhead” or something along those lines. Maybe I missunderstood what you really meant, but that’s how I recieved it.

I also pointed out in previous post what it says in the manual and that it wasn’t an answer to my question.

Anyway, I’ve gotten a reply to my question on here, so as far as this thead goes, I’ve gotten what I came here for.

Also no need to try and threaten me or similar with ”slaps on the wrist”. Thank you though for clarifying the thread title for me.
maybe its a language barrier? the manual ref: what WYP posted above is pretty clear when I read the text. Even if i didnt know what the 4pin was for, it does state 8pin is enough. Doesnt matter anyway. You have your answer now, so you have saved money on the cablemod order.
  #25  
Old 29-11-18, 07:40 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,498
And I just wonder why my answer was inadequate. Over 336W (according to spec, quality PSUs probably exceed that) and you'll end up heating the cables a bit too much, and having two more pairs would be preferable. Push too much power and you might have thermal runaway since copper conducts less at higher temps!
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
  #26  
Old 29-11-18, 08:07 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
He has a right, to hold back on splashing extra cash if he has emptied his account on a high end board.

Don't see why buying an expensive board means he has to lavishly overspend on other unnecessary items. £20 is still £20 saved if he keeps it in his account.
If you're sweating £20 on a build this high end you're crazy.

Sorry, but nose spite face comes to mind. Whatever though, I will just not bother with pointless threads that are pointless. It's an oxy moron.

"Hey guys I bought a top end motherboard and CPU can I save myself £20 cutting on a feature I paid loads of money for. BTW I'm young and from the new generation so I'll ask for help reading the manual, then argue against spending £20"

Seriously lmfao. It beggars belief.

Pinch me, I'll wake up in a minute.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



  #27  
Old 29-11-18, 09:14 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,498
Most high end mobos have headers for stuff you don't need. Do you have to make use of every single RGB and FAN header on the board? Of course not.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
  #28  
Old 29-11-18, 10:15 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
If you're sweating £20 on a build this high end you're crazy.

Sorry, but nose spite face comes to mind. Whatever though, I will just not bother with pointless threads that are pointless. It's an oxy moron.

"Hey guys I bought a top end motherboard and CPU can I save myself £20 cutting on a feature I paid loads of money for. BTW I'm young and from the new generation so I'll ask for help reading the manual, then argue against spending £20"


Seriously lmfao. It beggars belief.

Pinch me, I'll wake up in a minute.
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
Most high end mobos have headers for stuff you don't need. Do you have to make use of every single RGB and FAN header on the board? Of course not.
Right, so I'm guessing that even a regular who may be insecure and despite may have bought an "high end" PC, doesn't have endless money and is very careful with their hardware, can't ask for help/advice regarding what probably to many is quite simple/common sense?...

Then perhaps this forum has gone from a place where you can come and feel welcome of asking for help, to a place where a regular basically are assumed to be like Tom, a tech guru and supposed to know everything?

I honestly don't understand why everyone is getting all anal up about this... I'm not native english, and for the record, I didn't buy this motherboard, I got it as a birthday present for my 25th birthday last weekend and my parents are both retired and sickness retired, and don't have a fortune.

So therefore I want to be as careful as I can with it, as I value this piece maybe more than anyone of you would. As I know that it's a piece of tech that I can't afford to buy every other day and that my retired parents basically spent, what is to them, a fortune today to give me a nice 25th birthday present.

And then for me to get insulted for questioning a £20 purchase descision because of this, without even knowing the story behind it?. It's sad that I actually need to explain myself and my own purchase descisions on a forum like this over a simple question really.

I only asked if I needed to have both EPS cables in the motherboard and if not, then what the extra 4 pin is for?... And instead I get 3 pages of annoyed posts against me, as I'm supposed to be able to read the manual, even though it doesn't clearly say/explain my issue to me and/or I may not understand it properly.

I'm sorry everyone for taking up and wasting your time asking this question and making what seems to be to many of you a very pointless and dumb thread. Mods if you want to close of this thread, you're more than welcome to. I'm personally done with this thread as this is just ridiculous and outrageous to say the least.

Thank you though looz for backing me with your last post, I appreciate it and to all of those who actually gave me concrete advice to my question.
  #29  
Old 29-11-18, 10:32 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,686
I actually think the level of criticism has been quite dumb if i am honest, he had a question, we answered, there is no further need for details or discussion about financial things, if he doesn't need to spend it, then fine, don't make it about going all out for no good reason like a lot of the enthousiast PCMR people do.


Frankly the Attitude stinks and i don't particularly think SuB was professional either, webmaster or not, you came across as agressive, if you want this community to do well, this sort a thing isnt healthy.


Could we refrain from getting annoyed just because some one who has been here a long time and doesn't natively speak the language or might have some trouble expressing his question? can we not go like, oh you got this expensive thing, now buy all the other expensive things, its pointless and useless.
  #30  
Old 29-11-18, 10:45 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,155
This whole thread could have been summed up in one answer: "No dude, the 8 pin on its own is fine but add the extra 4 pin if you're going to draw a load more power."


Why all the added negativity, and from a member of the moderating team as well, I will never know. Maybe it's personal? Whatever the cause, there's no need for it.
__________________
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.