Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 28-11-18, 06:20 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
Thanks everyone for your replies, much appreciated!

To answer you NBD, what I can find in the manual regarding the EPS connectors are the following:



And to my understanding, that doesn’t specifically answers my question really... Just says in general.

The reason I ask is I’m about to order custom cables and wondering if I should/need to add that extra 4 pin or not.
Um.. it quite literally answers your question.
"Ensure to connect the 8-pin power plug, or connect both the 8-pin and 4-pin power plugs."

Not sure how it doesn't answer your question. It says connect the 8 pin. Or connect both. It doesn't get much more specific.

__________________
I am Iron Man.
  #12  
Old 28-11-18, 06:21 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,501
Like the picture in the manual shows, definitely plug in 8 pin, optionally plug in the 4 pin as well.


It's basically for very high power draw. According to this a 8 pin EPS can handle 336W.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
  #13  
Old 28-11-18, 06:28 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Um.. it quite literally answers your question.
"Ensure to connect the 8-pin power plug, or connect both the 8-pin and 4-pin power plugs."

Not sure how it doesn't answer your question. It says connect the 8 pin. Or connect both. It doesn't get much more specific.
My question is basically, why is the 4 pin there if you only (need yo) use the 8 pin? What is the function of the extra 4 pin? Is it for heavy overclocking or what?...

That is my question basically, which as far as my understanding goes, doesn’t say.
  #14  
Old 28-11-18, 06:29 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
My question is basically, why is the 4 pin there if you only (need yo) use the 8 pin? What is the function of the extra 4 pin? Is it for heavy overclocking or what?...

That is my question basically, which as far as my understanding goes, doesn’t say.
It could be for a number of things. Extra power when heavily overclocking, heavy power for overclocking RAM, etc. Best thing to do here is stop getting in such a twist and just connect it. It won't hurt any.
__________________


  #15  
Old 28-11-18, 06:31 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
It could be for a number of things. Extra power when heavily overclocking, heavy power for overclocking RAM, etc. Best thing to do here is stop getting in such a twist and just connect it. It won't hurt any.
It will hurt my wallet ... As mentioned previously I’m about to order custom cables and wondering if I NEED that extra 4 pin EPS cable. As that adds another $20 to the overall cost.
  #16  
Old 28-11-18, 06:44 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,686
you don't need that for normal use and moderate overclocks, order a 8 pin and leave it there ^^
  #17  
Old 28-11-18, 06:55 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post
you don't need that for normal use and moderate overclocks, order a 8 pin and leave it there ^^
Thank you!
  #18  
Old 28-11-18, 07:05 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,896
You bought that set up and you're sweating over twenty bucks?

Loooool
__________________


  #19  
Old 28-11-18, 07:36 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
You bought that set up and you're sweating over twenty bucks?

Loooool
I’m not sweating at all over twenty bucks. I’m just not gonna throw away money just because. And yes I bought this setup, over a long period of time, not everything at once. That doeesn’t mean I have a ton of money just because of that dude. Besides why pay for it if I’m not even gonna use it?...
  #20  
Old 29-11-18, 09:18 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
You bought that set up and you're sweating over twenty bucks?

Loooool
He has a right, to hold back on splashing extra cash if he has emptied his account on a high end board.

Don't see why buying an expensive board means he has to lavishly overspend on other unnecessary items. £20 is still £20 saved if he keeps it in his account.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.