Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-05-16, 09:20 PM
james5121 james5121 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Exclamation i7 4790K runs hot with a corsair H110iGT

Hi everyone.

I'm having some issues with my 4790K getting hot at stock clocks with a corsair H110iGT cooler. Even with turbo mode turned off and all fans running at max RPMs, the CPU will throttle using aida64s stress testt, and it only takes about 30 seconds to start getting that hot. I had this issue before so I did an RMA on both the cooler and cpu but the problem persists. I had a 4690k that ran just fine and I could overclock the crap out of it. but the only thing I can do with the 4790k is underclock it to keep my house from burning down. I called asus who makes my motherboard (maximus hero VII) and they went through the bios settings with me (a four hour phone call) and we determined it wasn't the board.

What do I do? does anyone know what might be causing this? would delidding the CPU help?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-16, 09:57 PM
Kilbane's Avatar
Kilbane Kilbane is offline
Hagrid Look-A-Like
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Abergavenny, S.Wales
Posts: 1,247
1st off, what are the settings you are running the CPU on, Multiplier and Vcore?

Secondly, are you sure the cooler is making contact with the CPU?
__________________
I'm not a Geek! ..... I'm an intellectual BADASS!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-16, 10:11 PM
james5121 james5121 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Multiplier is at 40 and voltages are all set to auto. And as for the cooler, I've reapplied thermal compound to it twice now and both times I made sure to bolt it down in the X pattern and I use a pea sized amount of thwrmal paste as it seems to do a good job at covering it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-16, 10:13 PM
TPC's Avatar
TPC TPC is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: D:\BW\Stuttgart
Posts: 1,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by james5121 View Post
Multiplier is at 40 and voltages are all set to auto. And as for the cooler, I've reapplied thermal compound to it twice now and both times I made sure to bolt it down in the X pattern and I use a pea sized amount of thwrmal paste as it seems to do a good job at covering it.
Was it spread well? And also Auto-Volts are generally really stable but mostly really hot so. get something like CPU-Z and read the actual voltage.

Although at some point your cpu will get cooler, at like 1.6V I heard they say well under the thermal throttling.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-16, 10:34 PM
james5121 james5121 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Yea it's evenly spread. And on open hardware monitor it shoes that it's Max wattage was 35.5watts for the package but it's max temp was 98°c and max speed was 3998mhz and it's core voltage is 1.054

I just went into my bios and set it to 1.6v but then my PC wouldn't start and I'd get an overvoltage error so I turned it down to 1.2


Posts merged, please use the edit button it keep the threads tidier.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-16, 11:19 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by james5121 View Post
I just went into my bios and set it to 1.6v but then my PC wouldn't start and I'd get an overvoltage error so I turned it down to 1.2
Wow! 1.6v through a 4790k NO!!! The max voltage on intel's ark is 1.35v, some have gone as high as 1.4v when overclocking but that voltage would seriously lower the CPUs life span. You should be able to pull off 4.6Ghz @ 1.25v should be ideally getting 60 - 65c.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-16, 11:25 PM
james5121 james5121 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Yea but at 1.081V and stock clocks I was thermal throttling. But I found that turning down to half a volt (and subsequently having to lower the clocks) I was still hitting 70°C. So I'm thinking it's the vrms.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-16, 11:40 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Do you have access to a physical thermometer, better still a laser thermometer (amazon £5) see if you can get a reading from the heat sinks themselves, should give you a better idea of where the heat is being generated. You're running the same CPU I am at stock with auto volts and I rarely see 44c under heavy loads.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-16, 04:08 PM
james5121 james5121 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
No I don't. But I have a bunch of ambient thermometers around the case and all of them read about 25°c even around the vrms. I don't know what to do. And I'd call Intel but they can't seem to understand how a CPU works because all their call centres are outsourced and it's frustrating because I won't have a cpu for a while if I call them for an RMA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-05-16, 04:09 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Can you post us a screenshot of "Open Hardware Monitor" with all the sensor readings? It'll give us a better understanding of what is happening with everything.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4790k, asus, corsair, cpu, overheating

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.