Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-01-16, 12:39 PM
painejake painejake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 241
Fan controller - Sensor placement

I'm thinking of getting a fan controller, possibly the NZXT Sentry 3. Just wondering where people place the temp sensors.

I want to try keep everything as clean as possible so looking to place them out of sight where possible.

Is there a better fan controller at around the £40 mark? I'd like one with red LCD if possible!

Cheers!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-16, 12:50 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,939
Some of the software for fans is so good now an external one with cables you have to add really does just make mess. You would have to be willing to put a lot of hours in to get it tidy.

Most of the kits Ive seen wont make you life very easy
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-16, 12:53 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,864
From what I have heard nothing beats the NZXT Grid+ V2. The software for it is amazing.

I really dig things that allow you to control them easily via Windows and software.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-16, 01:01 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
From what I have heard nothing beats the NZXT Grid+ V2. The software for it is amazing.

I really dig things that allow you to control them easily via Windows and software.

IIRC V3 is out now
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-16, 01:03 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
IIRC V3 is out now
Cool beans. TBH I actually considered getting one then I realised I would have absolutely nowhere to put it.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-16, 01:35 PM
painejake painejake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Some of the software for fans is so good now an external one with cables you have to add really does just make mess. You would have to be willing to put a lot of hours in to get it tidy.

Most of the kits Ive seen wont make you life very easy
That's what I'm worried about, will re-wire it all if I have too but somethings are going to be visible regardless

I'll have a look at the Grid+ that sounds a bit nicer.

I've never had much luck with Speedfan though maybe I should rtfm a bit more, are there any others I should be looking at?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-16, 01:46 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,939
Speedfan is so dated now.

Fan control on the Asus software is a lot better than I thought, even my server uses it.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-16, 08:49 PM
painejake painejake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 241
I've got a gigabyte board the the fan software for the board (not just limiting to the fan based stuff) is completely naff!

I think I'll go for the Grid+ V2 and when I upgrade the PSU, wire it in and hopefully with a bit of careful planning keep most of it completely out of sight
__________________


My Rig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-01-16, 09:17 PM
sfelock's Avatar
sfelock sfelock is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 347
I had the sentry 3 in my previous build. And I will say, it does make a mess of cables. It was rather difficult to keep everything tidy unless you really put some time into it. As well, the dispaly is a bit qwerky, or at least mine was, just seemed as though if you weren't looking at it from the right angle, it was near impossible to see. I would go with the grid +. I had the original grid and loved it. I can only imagine being able to control all those fans would've been amazing.
__________________
Rescue 1 Build Log
Specs:
AsRock Z97 PRO4, Intel 4690k, Corsair H60 AIO, Vengenace Pro 1866mHz 2x8GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, 2x XFX R7 370 in Xfire, Fractal Edison 750M, Fractal Define S, Fractal Venturi HP-12 fans
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-16, 06:16 AM
painejake painejake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 241
Thanks awesome man cheers, yeah I liked the idea of it but read a few reviews saying the touchscreen controls weren't too great.

At least the Grid+ V2 won't take up an optical drive bay as I might move my HDDs up there.

Should be able to tuck it away nicely!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.