Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-04-14, 09:18 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
BIOS Trouble

Hi guys and gals,
I flashed my BIOS for the first time today on my gtx 670 following this tutorial


Now I can't up the TDP above 100% or else the card crashes as soon as boost kicks in, topping out at 1294MHz and 1.23V

I don't seem to be able to control the maximum voltage anymore. When TDP is set to 145% it actually spikes at 207% before crashing ^^

Any ideas?

Thx in advance!

-vT

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-04-14, 10:05 AM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
Bump.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-04-14, 11:46 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,137
What 670 do you have, is it a reference model?
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-04-14, 12:14 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
its a Windforce 3x OC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-04-14, 12:18 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualTune View Post
its a Windforce 3x OC
You won't be able to flash the BIOS on a Windforce 3x, all non reference cards use their own BIOS made by Gigabyte, Asus etc etc. Even if it is a reference PCB, if it has a non reference cooler on it, it will still use a custom BIOS.

You can only flash reference model cards that have a reference cooler with another BIOS unfortunately.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-04-14, 12:38 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
alright i just reset it. thx for the reply. sad to see i can't push it any more
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-04-14, 12:41 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualTune View Post
alright i just reset it. thx for the reply. sad to see i can't push it any more
No probs
Sadly one of the very few downsides to having a non reference card is not being able to flash the BIOS.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-04-14, 01:23 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
I wonder if you couldn't edit the custom BIOS though...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-04-14, 01:27 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualTune View Post
I wonder if you couldn't edit the custom BIOS though...
You could try, there are BIOS editing tools out there but I have no experience of using them.
Be careful though, you could brick your card if you do something wrong.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-04-14, 02:37 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
Hell no I won't try that I thought someone experienced in CS might have done it before xD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.