Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 10-06-13, 05:39 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aa-back1234 View Post
I dont know what to do anymore ! Its driving me nuts :C
If you're using windows 8, I'd suggest going Nvidia.

If you're using normal programs like internet, emails etc, let windows do the multi screen options itself. Don't use Nvidia surround for this.
However, set up surround with Nvidia, then switch back to Windows mode (Windows key P, then choose the 'extend' option).

Whenever you play a game, go windows key + P, and then choose the 'second screen only' option, which will switch to Nvidia surround.

Windows 8's support for multi monitors is great without needing eyefinity or nvidia surround actually enabled. Only need to enable them when playing games tbh.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-06-13, 05:46 PM
Aa-back1234 Aa-back1234 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
450 euro -> gainward phantom 4gb
430 euro -> Asus 7970 top (3gb)

Help me out D:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-06-13, 05:47 PM
Aa-back1234 Aa-back1234 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Also i heard some stuff about needing 42 ohms on the 12 volt rail? Some ppl say its bull
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-06-13, 05:47 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Are you planning on going SLI/Crossfire at any point in the future?
Also what screens are you planning on running?

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=54206
You know we've already answered that for you dude...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-06-13, 05:51 PM
Aa-back1234 Aa-back1234 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
I am (already) using 3 full hd 27'' monitors. And i do not plan to run SLI or Xfire. (And i can never have enough opinions :P)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-06-13, 05:54 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Well...
To quote myself from the other thread:

'As for the 4gb version it's up to you. It's nvidia surround - not eyefinity btw (eyefinity is AMD). With a single card, with triple screens, you probably won't be able to play games on maximum details anyway, and so the extra 2gb won't matter. But, if in the future you choose to add a second card in order to max out games, then you'll probably regret not getting the 4gb.

I'd say if you're definitely not planning on upgrading to SLI in the future, don't bother with 4gb. If you think there's a chance of you getting another, then I'd be going for 4gb.'
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-06-13, 05:56 PM
Aa-back1234 Aa-back1234 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Eh eh eh... Woop,

Anyway i think i should get the 4 gb since some games do really need it
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-06-13, 06:04 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aa-back1234 View Post
Eh eh eh... Woop,

Anyway i think i should get the 4 gb since some games do really need it
Right, I have a single 670 running 5760x1080.

On BF3 for example, if I put it on ultra details, the GPU can't keep up fast enough for the vRAM to be used...
So I have to lower the settings...
With the lower settings, vRAM won't go above 2gb anyway on say medium settings, so it's pointless getting any higher.

The only point in getting the 4gb cards is if you are going to be going SLI, you'll obviously have double the GPU power, and therefore enough GPU power to run at ultra, and therefore the game can use more vRAM.

You'll struggle to find games that your card can max out with frame rates above 45 at 5760x1080 that will use more than 2gb or vRAM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-06-13, 06:06 PM
Aa-back1234 Aa-back1234 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Im gonna get the 2gb since the price dropped 60 euros from the 4gb model. 60 euros on games! And this is final! Damnit brain!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-06-13, 06:58 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aa-back1234 View Post
Im gonna get the 2gb since the price dropped 60 euros from the 4gb model. 60 euros on games! And this is final! Damnit brain!
You're gonna need more that 2GB for 3 monitors. Are they 1440p ones?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eyefinity nvidia surround

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.