Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 27-08-12, 05:41 PM
Kyle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I was going to get some Corsair sticks but PC Format gave these a higher score because of latency or something

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27-08-12, 05:46 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Is it the 2133mhz kit you're looking at?
Get: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-Veng...6089590&sr=1-8
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27-08-12, 05:49 PM
Kyle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I just found some RAM at the same price except it's 2 strips of 8gB. Should I get the 2 strips so I can still have 2 free RAM slots or is there a performance loss?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27-08-12, 05:51 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
2 sticks of 8gb is absolutely fine since the processor works in dual channel anyway
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27-08-12, 05:54 PM
Kyle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Is it the 2133mhz kit you're looking at?
Get: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-Veng...6089590&sr=1-8
Those ones are almost 60USD more, is it really worth it? I'm all for learning
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 27-08-12, 05:57 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
If there's something for cheaper with 2x8gb sticks then by all means go for them - I'd just advise finding them with voltages at 1.5 or lower. Even if it will run properly - all new RAM is 1.5v or lower, so if you buy a 1.65v kit it could have been sat on a shelf for a few years
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27-08-12, 06:04 PM
Kyle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
If there's something for cheaper with 2x8gb sticks then by all means go for them - I'd just advise finding them with voltages at 1.5 or lower. Even if it will run properly - all new RAM is 1.5v or lower, so if you buy a 1.65v kit it could have been sat on a shelf for a few years
How do you find out the voltage? It's not on any of the Amazon.com product descriptions. And what's the difference between the different voltages/what do they mean?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27-08-12, 06:08 PM
drunkenvalley drunkenvalley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
It's honestly what it says on the tin. They use a tad more power. Newer generations of memory controllers are tuned towards 1.5v, and consider them ideal. However, it has a tolerance of up to 1.65v.

What's your location, out of curiosity? Amazon.com may not be the best store for you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27-08-12, 06:16 PM
Kyle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkenvalley View Post
It's honestly what it says on the tin. They use a tad more power. Newer generations of memory controllers are tuned towards 1.5v, and consider them ideal. However, it has a tolerance of up to 1.65v.

What's your location, out of curiosity? Amazon.com may not be the best store for you.
I live in South Africa lol so there aren't many shops with as many options as Amazon.com for electronics. I'll put my location on my profile
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27-08-12, 06:49 PM
Kyle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Okay I found 2x8gB for a reasonable price and they're 1.5v. Here's the link: http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Modul...=kingston+16gb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, build, gaming, list, rig

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.