Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 08-08-12, 11:49 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Some videos that helped me out when I was in need; http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotat...&v=d_56kyib-Ls
When you're done with that one, watch part three also
As long as you're slow, thorough, patient and use common sense, you shouldn't go wrong.

All screws and motherboard headers are included, and thermal paste is indeed provided with the CPU cooler. I doubt it's the best, though, so it may be worth picking up some Noctua NT-H1.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-08-12, 11:56 PM
PapaSmurf6768's Avatar
PapaSmurf6768 PapaSmurf6768 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 516
Used that same Newegg guide for my first build, it's very thorough and they cover everything. And don't worry! Putting everything together is a lot easier than you would think.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-08-12, 12:46 AM
Juusuhako Juusuhako is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
Some videos that helped me out when I was in need; http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotat...&v=d_56kyib-Ls
When you're done with that one, watch part three also
As long as you're slow, thorough, patient and use common sense, you shouldn't go wrong.

All screws and motherboard headers are included, and thermal paste is indeed provided with the CPU cooler. I doubt it's the best, though, so it may be worth picking up some Noctua NT-H1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaSmurf6768 View Post
Used that same Newegg guide for my first build, it's very thorough and they cover everything. And don't worry! Putting everything together is a lot easier than you would think.
Thank you very much. What about regarding the rams? Will they simply run 1333mhz on the mobo even though theyre 1600mhz?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-08-12, 12:53 AM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Yeah, should do. The RAM was just so god damn cheap, it seemed too good to resist
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-08-12, 01:19 AM
Juusuhako Juusuhako is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
Yeah, should do. The RAM was just so god damn cheap, it seemed too good to resist
Awesome man. I did try to find an HD 6850 but seems Aria dont sell those anymore (saw in some benchmarks it did better at around the same pricerange), but i'd have to pay £110 on a different website cus of shipping, oh well, this system is enough for her needs!

THANK YOU!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-08-12, 01:25 AM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Yeah, the 77** series aren't the best of the new generation, but they're more than enough for what you need. And for £300? - bargain!
Best of luck, my friend - be sure to tell us how it all goes, and how she finds her new machine
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-08-12, 02:07 AM
PapaSmurf6768's Avatar
PapaSmurf6768 PapaSmurf6768 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 516
I just think it's funny that you're building her a machine before you build yourself one. Get on that!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-08-12, 02:38 AM
CPMFW's Avatar
CPMFW CPMFW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colchester, UK
Posts: 1,536
good luck with the build!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-08-12, 02:52 AM
Juusuhako Juusuhako is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaSmurf6768 View Post
I just think it's funny that you're building her a machine before you build yourself one. Get on that!
I have a machine. :P
E8500 @ 3.64ghz, 8gb ram and a 295gtx. I figured mine was getting outdated, then I ran Arkham City with maxed settings on my 1900x1200 resolution and everything ran perfect. Sure, its DX9, but I havent experienced any different so that doesnt bother me, and aslong as it runs demanding games like that without hesitation im not gonna invest.

I also havent mentioned my girlfriend lives abroad, flight tickets arent cheap these days, and she comes first.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMFW View Post
good luck with the build!
Thank you.

I will report when I have done it. But im not visiting her before a week or two, and then I get to it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-08-12, 02:56 AM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
Yeah good luck man The gx 295 is still a pretty good card
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.