Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-08-12, 08:46 PM
Juusuhako Juusuhako is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 383
£300 gamer build, will this do it?

Recently agreed to spend about £300 on a pc for my girlfriend. All it has to be able to is play Sims 3 at a stable framerate (no stuttering)... Will these parts do the work? Or would anyone change anything?

YOUR BASKET
1 x AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition "125W Edition" 3.40GHz (Socket AM3) - OEM £79.99
1 x Sapphire HD 6570 HM 1024MB GDDR3 PCI-Express Graphics Card (11191-01-20G) £49.99
1 x Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2P 760G (Socket AM3+) DDR3 MicroATX Motherboard ** FREE NEXUIZ GAME ** £38.99
1 x G.Skill RipJaw 8GB (2x4G DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Dual Channel Kit (F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL) £37.99
1 x Corsair Builder Series CX 430W V2 '80 Plus' Power Supply (CMPSU-430CXUKV2) £36.98
1 x Xigmatek Asgard Pro Gaming Case - Black £34.99
1 x Akasa AK-CC4005SP01 Venom Nano CPU Cooler (Socket LGA775/LGA1155/LGA1156/LGA1366/AM2/AM3) £21.98
1 x LG GH24NS90 24x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM £18.98
Total : £334.01 (includes shipping : £11.75).


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-12, 08:58 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Do you have a harddrive already? And Windows 7?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-12, 09:11 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Try and get an i3 in over the Phenom - considering it's a few years old now
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-12, 09:21 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520

Shall be enough to play games on medium for the most part. Bear in mind that i can play Borderlands on a 3770K with an inferior iGPU, Sims 3 should be a doddle for the A8.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-12, 09:36 PM
Juusuhako Juusuhako is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
Do you have a harddrive already? And Windows 7?
Yes, and she is getting monitor herself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Try and get an i3 in over the Phenom - considering it's a few years old now
Which one would you recommend for gaming and within my budget?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post

Shall be enough to play games on medium for the most part. Bear in mind that i can play Borderlands on a 3770K with an inferior iGPU, Sims 3 should be a doddle for the A8.
Thanks for the post, although isnt there missing a gpu??? Also, know that I am willing to spend the £300 if its gonna conclude is a big difference performance wise. I'd rather see a system suitable for semi-high settings, if this is possible within my budget.

Whats your opinion on the list I made?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-12, 09:40 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
I'd go with Josh'.

It isnt missing the GPU - the processor has a decent integrated graphics chip
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-12, 09:46 PM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
Semi high settings on the sims or on all games?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-12, 09:54 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
I can't imagine Sims 3 is graphically intensive, so i'm going to say it would blitz Sims.
Like I say, I game on the integrated graphics of my 3770k at the moment; I can play games such as Borderlands (medium), Blacklight Retribution (low), Need For Speed World (on medium), Portal 1 and 2 (maxed out) and it's all at playable frames. Except Borderlands when I get into some massive firefight with a few dozen Skags, then it gets framey.
The A8-3870k has a far better iGPU than I, so you should be just fine gaming on that alone.
You said all it had to do was play Sims 3 and it can.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-12, 10:00 PM
PapaSmurf6768's Avatar
PapaSmurf6768 PapaSmurf6768 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 516
Hahaha Borderlands... I play that game to boost my 670's self confidence. With V-Sync it only uses about 20% load Anyway yeah an APU would probably be best for such a low budget.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-12, 10:01 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Your 670 needs a self confidence boost?!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.