Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 02-08-12, 06:47 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
This forum has a hatred for the fan assisted RAM coolers, tis all.
What're you going be doing on your workstation, if I may ask?
Its mainly going to be used for editing and using cinema 4d, i got it for free and its a vast improvement over my intel pentium d with 2gb of ram

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-12, 08:00 PM
TheGuy1 TheGuy1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kanto Region
Posts: 8
When do you think you are going to be finished? I can't wait to see it
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-12, 08:02 PM
TheGuy1 TheGuy1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kanto Region
Posts: 8
Are you going to get a fan controller? If so which one?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-08-12, 08:03 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGuy1 View Post
When do you think you are going to be finished? I can't wait to see it
I don't know exactly but it should be done by the start of September, i just need to wait for stuff to arrive and i need to order a few more bits and bobs. And im getting a fan controller with an LCD screen, it looks nice and i picked it up of ebay for a good price. Once i get it ill post picks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-08-12, 08:03 PM
TheGuy1 TheGuy1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kanto Region
Posts: 8
Would you be interested in giving me some advice for when I build one?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-08-12, 08:07 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGuy1 View Post
Would you be interested in giving me some advice for when I build one?
Yeah sure, once i finish i will be able to give some pointers. The people on the forums have waaaay more knowledge than me though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-08-12, 08:23 PM
TheGuy1 TheGuy1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kanto Region
Posts: 8
I need help building a gaming pc, can you help?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-08-12, 08:24 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGuy1 View Post
I need help building a gaming pc, can you help?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-08-12, 05:14 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
UPDATE!:

I have the AMD cpu cooler now but i dont have the brackets so i will most probably need to take glue to it, some of my RAM heat-sinks came and they made like 10'C difference. i got the 4 silver ones but only 1 black one came and the silver seems to be cooler for some reason.
The heat-sinks were hard to install at first but then i got the hang of it.
I only have one arctic cooling alpine 64 at the minute but i will need to order another one but not having a second one was a good test for the fan controllers temp alarm.

Here is picture of the front with the fan controller in. I took the audio and firewire out because i dont need them and they were a wast of space. The hard-drive is on show at the front but that is the only place i can put it. I tried to power it up and it turned on and the fan controller lit up and all the fans were going but no image appeared on my monitor and i dont know why exactly and it turns its self of after a few seconds presumably because the second cpu overheats.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-08-12, 03:29 PM
wassupdoc's Avatar
wassupdoc wassupdoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,460
that thermal probe on the cpu will be doing precisely 0 to help your temps. i would get rid of it asap
If you really need the monitor, maybe someone could suggest a better place for it ( no experience with them myself)
I like those ram coolers :P bargain for 90p
__________________
"Entertaining by default"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, cpu, dual, server, workstation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.