Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-08-12, 01:03 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Post Workstation Build

Im making a workstation and I am building it off of an IBM Intellistation A Pro. It has Nvidia Quadro 4500, 16GB of RAM, 80GB WD BLACK HDD, 2x Dual Core AMD OPTERON socket 940. I will post pictures soon.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-12, 01:36 PM
The Orange One The Orange One is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Llyn Peninsula, North West Wales
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via MSN to The Orange One
Ok. Look Forward for the Pics
__________________



Broadband, Y U So Slow?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-12, 01:44 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin

I ended up with an intel cpu cooler from arctic cooling somehow but an amd replacement is on its way. It is more cable managed since i got it as it was a mission to put the side panel on before.

I have ordered some ram heatsinks as they are really cheap and they look nice and keep the ram a good 10-15 'C cooler. I also replaced the heavy duty server fans with 2 arctic cooling f8s as they are a lot quieter and they look the part. I have also ordered a 120mm fan that i am going to put in the front of the case, previously there was a drive cage there with and 80mm fan but have removed it to increase airflow and because it only has one hard drive. This means i will need to drill a few holes to make the fan fit. Also the PSU fan is past its best so i will replace that with a 92mm Arctic cooling fan. (arctic fanboy lol) for the cpu coolers im planning on using 2 arctic cooling alpine 64s but i just need to see if they fit and whether or not i can mod them to fit.

My cat also wanted me to get quieter fans. I have ordered a fan controller for eye candy and to lower the speed of my fans for at night if i need to leave it on all night for whatever reason. (The workstation is the furthest away one)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-12, 03:14 PM
The Orange One The Orange One is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Llyn Peninsula, North West Wales
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via MSN to The Orange One
Good Work Mate. I Like It!
__________________



Broadband, Y U So Slow?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-12, 03:35 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Orange One View Post
Good Work Mate. I Like It!
Thanks, once more of the parts arrive i will post an update.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-12, 03:37 PM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
Don't bother with ram coolers, they are not needed what so ever and are a waste of money
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-12, 04:05 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by seumasbeathan View Post
Don't bother with ram coolers, they are not needed what so ever and are a waste of money
They are £0.06 a piece and they're already ordered, the Ram in this does tend to get hotter than I would like it to be. Unlike "gaming" ram, the ram chips in this are crowded and there is more chips on a single module too. Its not one of the big pricey ones im getting either just subtle heatsinks.
Here is a pic:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-12, 05:14 PM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
Sorry I thought you meant a different type of ram cooler
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-12, 06:28 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by seumasbeathan View Post
Sorry I thought you meant a different type of ram cooler
Yeah i know, there's a lot of over priced ones going around.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-12, 06:31 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
This forum has a hatred for the fan assisted RAM coolers, tis all.
What're you going be doing on your workstation, if I may ask?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, cpu, dual, server, workstation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.