Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-07-10, 08:13 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
little upgrade

well spent a few bob and got myself an i7! waitin on it gettin delivered today the mobo ram and cpu should be here b4 1 and the coolers one of those scan deliveries where u have to wait in all day and i have to nip out the house for like 45 mins later in the afternoon hope i dont miss it

i7 920 D0

Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R

Corsair XMS3 1600

Noctua NH-d14

so i should have a little fun today!

__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-10, 09:49 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,940
Giga have just brought out a new UD3 (V2) with more power phases. Dont push it mega hard for too long as they have a tendancy to die......
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-10, 10:02 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
i didnt buy it new mate and i aint going for a huge oc just want a good clock so i can get good points on it for folding and to give me more pci-e's
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-10, 10:14 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,940
Ahhh right, youll get 4ghz probably dude, really depends how far you want to push it.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-10, 10:18 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
4 would be the ideal speed id want and that would get me pretty good points and thats how i bought an nh-d14 so i would have a better chance since its a bad ass cooler
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-10, 10:45 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
well thats the mobo cpu and ram arrived just need to wait and see if scan get my cooler delivered so i can start a rebuild, i was just thinkin i have a raid set up going on this current pc and i know they arent game for going to a different controller but what i was thinkin about doing was makin a win 7 restore disc then installing the drives and settin the new raid up and then using the restore disc to get my windows back to this instead of all the faff of installin everything again?
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-10, 11:27 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,940
Its best to do it all fresh mate....
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-10, 11:36 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
it would work tho?

if it does ill give it a try like that as its a lot of faffin about installin all my games again is bad enuff never mind gettin all my clients up and running again
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-10, 11:44 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,621
fresh installs are far better mate,they create less problems

also scan are quite good at shipping fella,altho i have just noticed ur in scotland

congrats on the hardware
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-07-10, 11:47 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
cooler just got delivered there literally 5 mins b4 i had to leave talk about luck!!!
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.