Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 21-06-10, 05:43 PM
7up 7up is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK, near the riots.
Posts: 56
...This is all good.

Yate Loons seem to be a great price. Should I get two?

On another note, having just checked:

Not including the cooler fan, I have a total of 5 fans blowing IN (4 in a 2x2 square on side, 1 at front),

and only one blowing OUT (at the back, exhaust style).

Temps are always steady- but should I flip another to OUT, perhaps near the top?

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21-06-10, 05:44 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
TAT is good for temps on Intel chips. I used to use it on my E4500. Doesn't work on AMD though haha.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21-06-10, 05:47 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='7up'
...This is all good.

Yate Loons seem to be a great price. Should I get two?

On another note, having just checked:

Not including the cooler fan, I have a total of 5 fans blowing IN (4 in a 2x2 square on side, 1 at front),

and only one blowing OUT (at the back, exhaust style).

Temps are always steady- but should I flip another to OUT, perhaps near the top?
I would leave it. That will only confuse the air flow causing dead spots. Cold air is your friend. It's a lot harder to get more cold air in that getting the warm air out. Is your rear fan 120mm yes? and is your case meshed or vented anywhere?

Oops missed a bit. If your cooler supports two fans then hells yeah, fit two. I don't do this whole quiet thing tbh. Performance causes heat and that heat needs dissapating.

I use Yate fans in my silver machine and they're pretty good. I swapped them out in my black one for slightly ever so less noisy though I used Arctics which were really cheap (like £5 for a 120 and £4 for a 92mm). Only thing I could really see on them that looked cheap was the wire used, but that makes no difference to how fast they move or the CFM generated.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21-06-10, 06:25 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='7up'
...This is all good.

Yate Loons seem to be a great price. Should I get two?

On another note, having just checked:

Not including the cooler fan, I have a total of 5 fans blowing IN (4 in a 2x2 square on side, 1 at front),

and only one blowing OUT (at the back, exhaust style).

Temps are always steady- but should I flip another to OUT, perhaps near the top?
Can you take a few pictures of your case for us dude and Ill see whats best to do about airflow for you as all that air in and 1 out is actually a bad thing. You need airflow otherwise the fans that air blowing in will just be making noise and not able to actually move any air.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 21-06-10, 06:37 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,621
its best to have more air going out than in.

prolemtech megahalms with some of the fans mentiond (i would have noctua)

and then see were your up to,as you might be ok with some samsung f3's
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 21-06-10, 07:05 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
its best to have more air going out than in.
How is it scientifically possible to have more air going out than in? Fans set to intake bring it in from outside. Fans set to exhaust create suction and flow. That air has to come from somewhere otherwise the case would implode. In which case it's better to be bringing more cool air in.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 21-06-10, 07:12 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
its best to have more air going out than in.

prolemtech megahalms with some of the fans mentiond (i would have noctua)

and then see were your up to,as you might be ok with some samsung f3's
Read the posts he has a TRUE. Yawn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
How is it scientifically possible to have more air going out than in? Fans set to intake bring it in from outside. Fans set to exhaust create suction and flow. That air has to come from somewhere otherwise the case would implode. In which case it's better to be bringing more cool air in.
You cant magically get more air IN a case just cos the fans are turning. you need air FLOW.....

Flow is also the quietist option as you dont have fans fighting to push air any more than they need to (thus just creating extra wind noise)
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 21-06-10, 07:36 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'

You cant magically get more air IN a case just cos the fans are turning. you need air FLOW.....

Flow is also the quietist option as you dont have fans fighting to push air any more than they need to (thus just creating extra wind noise)
I didn't say that. What I said was that the air had to be going somewhere. Through mesh, out of a gap, anywhere. Air brought in must go somewhere

Getting all sciencey for a moment now.. From what he has described I would imagine his system is working something like this. 4 fans in (I only drew two in 2d but imagine two below) and one out. So I am imagining it looks something like this.

Fig 1 is the system in its current state with Fig 2 being what will be occuring should he change two of the fans.



Personally I would rather stick with fig 1. Simply as yes, you are bringing air in faster than the rear fan can get it out but that air has to go somewhere. With that kind of flow even if it works its way out of the cracks or vents in the case it's still more cold air.

I'd like to see some photos though
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 21-06-10, 07:51 PM
7up 7up is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK, near the riots.
Posts: 56
*Absorbs knowledge*

Here's pics of my current setup. (One less fan than I thought, actually. 6 total)

All 6 fans appear to be 120mm.

(Also; 3 small fans attached to ATI 4870x2. Standard issue, I believe).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9750.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	198.4 KB
ID:	2737   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9752.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	246.1 KB
ID:	2738   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	154.6 KB
ID:	2739  

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 21-06-10, 08:01 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Personally speaking I would leave them on intake. Just my opinion. If you set any of those to exhaust they will simply take the air straight out that is coming in. They're too close together.

I think your cooling is more than adequate. It's far more than mine I'll say that much and I am running a 400mhz (or about 12%) overclock with hardly any rise in temps.

Oh, lovely case btw looks like it's built like a coal bunker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.