Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 08-05-10, 02:26 PM
killablade killablade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeuwarden, FR. The Netherlands
Posts: 1,988
The LanCool K62(R1) is a very nice case aswell

__________________
My *finished* build - KingPenguin
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-05-10, 06:55 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,630
I would go for a solid LianLi case, some decent hardware, perhaps spend around 1.2k mark? Get some new clothes and spend the rest on lots of munchies and some new games... Saturday out or in? Defo in for a new PC tbh ;D
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-05-10, 10:32 PM
siravarice's Avatar
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,184
So I've decided an i7 930 would be the best option processor, it's ludicrously overclockable, which is what I want. I want a case that I can screw in 2 240 rads really easy. Can I do that with the Utgard? And fit all the other stuff in? Would probably want a drive bay reservoir, just a fairly small one that doesn't show through at the front as I hate the look of those.

Considering I've never done watercooling before, I will need it all explained like a douche. I'm thinking this order:

Res>Pump>Rad>CPU block>Rad>GPU block>res Is that an ok order?
__________________
AMD Phenom II x4 970*
16GB RAM*
GTX 460*

*Won at a Xmas party raffle.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-05-10, 07:41 AM
siravarice's Avatar
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,184
Nice Youngie, but that's what the other £1000 I have is for!
__________________
AMD Phenom II x4 970*
16GB RAM*
GTX 460*

*Won at a Xmas party raffle.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-05-10, 10:53 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,943
Watercooling is easy but youll have to get creative in the Utgard.

Loop needs to be res-pump-rad - make it tidy. the loop order after this point makes no difference.

Trouble with dual rads means that alot of real estate to take u in a case for some one with no experience in building loops. First opf all youd have to bin of the HDD cage and buy a single drive mount for the optical bays as you need this room for the rads. Secondly the rad in the roof of the Utgard cant be full size, you have to get a medium thickness rad (up to 46mm iirc check the review)

Its worth getting the case and then working out what bits you need, so much easier to makes choices when you can actually see what you are working with.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-05-10, 01:40 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,621
this is why the CM dominator advance 2 would suit u just move up the drive cage or you might have to take some out and u can fit another dual RAD in the bottom aswell as the top
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-05-10, 01:54 PM
siravarice's Avatar
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,184
Yeah that's why I'm thinking the CM 690 II. It's either that or I can get a huge case where I don't have to worry about it. How easy would it be to fit two rads in a CM ATCS 840?
__________________
AMD Phenom II x4 970*
16GB RAM*
GTX 460*

*Won at a Xmas party raffle.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-05-10, 01:56 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,943
On the 690 you need to make sure the fan spacing is 15mm, CM have a habbit on the smaller cases of making it 20mm so you can only use their rads which is pointless. In all the pictures Ive seen with rads in the bottom its been CM rads.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-05-10, 02:09 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,943
From this picture it 'looks' to be 15mm, but having the rad in the bottom makes pump location an arse, and bleeding the system will be a pitFa aswell.

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-05-10, 02:16 PM
siravarice's Avatar
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,184
figure getting a 120 Rad in the bottom of many cases and a 360 in the top is easier, so this is what I will do. Or maybe just a 360 for CPU and GPU? But I want it quiet so fans won't be running a big speeds, so maybe the little 120 as well would really help out.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x4 970*
16GB RAM*
GTX 460*

*Won at a Xmas party raffle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:22 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.