Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-10-07, 07:41 PM
advancedkill advancedkill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 176
Scan.co.uk offer barebones laptops

I just saw this on www.scan.co.uk (If it's against forum policy to post website names, I am sorry, but I can hardly say www.somerandomwebsite.com)

You can now get laptop barebones cases:

http://www.scan.co.uk/search/search....book&Submit=Go

I was going to get one and have e-mailed scan to see if I can get a 8600m-gt instead for the GPU.

This is probably the best spec you can get, if you don't get an SSD:

http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/3417/50537647cw3.jpg

I'm just wondering where we get drivers from. Of course, I would love to see if you could overclock this.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-07, 08:45 PM
maverik-sg1 maverik-sg1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,842
I would be interested to see if the 7400 would run WoW - good spec apart from the bit bit that says 'Vista'.
__________________
Still got a few 939 UK records :O


(highest rank ever: 1st at 05 Nov 2006 12:30, most hwboints ever: 331.7 points at 05 Nov 2006 12:30) - Still got pedigree
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-07, 09:24 PM
advancedkill advancedkill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 176
I would think that the 7400 could run WoW, since my dad's laptop with integrated intel graphics can run at medium/max detail. (where settings are at either med/max).

If you don't like Vista, cast your eyes to the bit that says "Xp Pro" - I wanted to see how much the best spec would cost, and for me that includes a dual-boot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-07, 10:06 AM
maverik-sg1 maverik-sg1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,842
Novatech offer great laptops with 8600M graphics for under £700

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='advancedkill'
I would think that the 7400 could run WoW, since my dad's laptop with integrated intel graphics can run at medium/max detail. (where settings are at either med/max).

If you don't like Vista, cast your eyes to the bit that says "Xp Pro" - I wanted to see how much the best spec would cost, and for me that includes a dual-boot.
My Laptops (one with 1.8ghz Core 2 and one with Yonah 1.8ghz both with 2GB RAM and one with ATI Xpress 200 and one with Intel Integrated) will not run WoW above 17fps which is not good (read as unplayable) - so when I say run WoW what I mean is run WoW at native screen resolution at 35fps plus.

I see no benefit for Vista and 4GB of ram right now - thats not to say that it will not be important in the future.
__________________
Still got a few 939 UK records :O


(highest rank ever: 1st at 05 Nov 2006 12:30, most hwboints ever: 331.7 points at 05 Nov 2006 12:30) - Still got pedigree
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-07, 10:41 AM
stocky stocky is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,291
Surely a nice Dell XPS laptop wouldn't have a problem with it - doesn't Phil have one for sale at the moment?
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6700 (ES)

Mobo: ABIT IP35 Off Limits!

RAM: Crucial Ballistix (1024MBx2)

HD: WD 150GB Raptor & Integral 1TB

GPU: nVIDIA 7800GTX 512MB

PSU: PCP&C 750W Silencer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-07, 12:47 PM
maverik-sg1 maverik-sg1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,842
Yes, yes and waaaaaay out of my budget - although it is a bargain
__________________
Still got a few 939 UK records :O


(highest rank ever: 1st at 05 Nov 2006 12:30, most hwboints ever: 331.7 points at 05 Nov 2006 12:30) - Still got pedigree
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-07, 01:51 PM
Vrykyl Vrykyl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 216
Dell Vostro business notebooks are pretty amazing atm too....and you can haggle for some seriously good deals
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-07, 02:05 PM
advancedkill advancedkill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 176
"

My Laptops (one with 1.8ghz Core 2 and one with Yonah 1.8ghz both with 2GB RAM and one with ATI Xpress 200 and one with Intel Integrated) will not run WoW above 17fps which is not good (read as unplayable) - so when I say run WoW what I mean is run WoW at native screen resolution at 35fps plus.

I see no benefit for Vista and 4GB of ram right now - thats not to say that it will not be important in the future.

"

Are you sure about our laptops??? What res are they - my Dad's laptop gets about 30fps apart from when flying (when it drops to about 5 because the HDD can't load the map data fast enough).

I only find Vista useful when having lots and lots of apps open - atm I am using 1.8gb of RAM, which sometimes gets to about 2.5. But, yes, there isn't much point to having Vista.

"

Surely a nice Dell XPS laptop wouldn't have a problem with it - doesn't Phil have one for sale at the moment?

"

Phil has one for sale??? OOO - where is it for sale (link?)

Do Novatech offer barebones laptops, or just pre-built ones. I thought that building a laptop would be far more fun than just buying one off the shelf.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-07, 02:22 PM
advancedkill advancedkill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 176
I just noticed that I put this in the wrong forum - could an admin (please) move the thread?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.