Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #41  
Old 09-12-11, 08:15 PM
taz838 taz838 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Luddite View Post

Six? More like a dozen.
Your sig mate! I have seen it in a poster at my school, Its class!

Arvin, when do you plan on buying this build?

Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-12-11, 07:25 PM
arvindsond arvindsond is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Around Xmas, waiting to see if I get any parts a little cheaper in the sales online, worth a try right?

Arvind!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-12-11, 07:54 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arvind View Post

Around Xmas, waiting to see if I get any parts a little cheaper in the sales online, worth a try right?

Arvind!
Yup, it's deffo worth a try
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-12-11, 11:13 PM
ExpertLayman's Avatar
ExpertLayman ExpertLayman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 132
DELETE
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world; those who understand binary and those who don't.

Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 20-12-11, 09:36 AM
arvindsond arvindsond is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Hey guys, another quick question, I've just realised my PSU is 1000w, do you think that will be enough to power the rig I've been talking about in this post?

Thanks again

Arvind!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 20-12-11, 09:40 AM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
You are going for one 580, right? If so then it should be more than enough seeing that I'm running my rig on a 750W PSU.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 20-12-11, 10:01 AM
arvindsond arvindsond is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Yeah just the one 580, okay thats great then, I wont need to buy another psu!

Arvind!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 20-12-11, 10:13 AM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Don't worry mate. Even a decent 750W probably would have been enough.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 20-12-11, 10:20 AM
arvindsond arvindsond is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Awesome, thanks for that
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 22-12-11, 08:00 PM
arvindsond arvindsond is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Hi guys, was thinking about what you were all saying about the motherboards and so I started looking at the differences between:

Asus P9X79 Pro vs Rampage IV Extreme (original choice)

And apart from an extra PCI slot which allows 4way SLI, which to be honest I don't see myself using (I probably wont use 3 way SLI but definitely 2way at some point), and 2 extra usb ports I don't see much difference.

All the main points seem to be exactly the same, teh amount of RAM that it can take, the amount of sata connections, 3 way sli or crossfire, same cpu etc???

Am I missing anything here, and it's £100 cheaper?

Thanks

Arvind!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.