Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-02-17, 12:51 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,757
Boot error

For about half a year now my PC randomly gets stuck with a 9C or A2 error on boot. It used to happen about once a month but recently it has been happening more frequently so i am somewhat concerned that my board may be on its way out. Usually a restart fixes it, but today it took three attempts. A quick google search suggested that the 9C error is related to the USB ports and A2 is for IDE errors, however i can't figure out the cause since it doesn't happen consistently. Any ideas?
Relevant specs:
MSI Z87 MPOWER
i5 4670k
4x4GB 2133MHz 9-11-11-31 1.65V Corsair Vengeance Pro
Everything stock with enabled XMP profile. USB devices are just the standard stuff, mouse, keyboard, amp/dac and a usb soundcard i use for my mic.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-17, 01:04 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,584
Just a thought how new is the bios and try swapping usb to different ports and maybe the sata to a different port too and see if that stops it
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-17, 01:09 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,335
It could just be something you have plugged into the USB port that causes issues. I had a keyboard once that would stop me being able to access my bios (would freeze on the way in). Took me bloody ages to figure that out too !

Try removing the AMP DAC and anything other than the KB and mouse.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-17, 01:15 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,757
The BIOS should be from 2013, haven't updated it since i bought it. What keeps me from blaming any of the USB devices i have is that the boot lock only happens once in a while and it only started occurring roughly half a year ago, but my setup hasn't changed in 1.5 years.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-17, 01:20 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,335
Try and update the bios dude. Especially if you got the board close to launch, because early bioses are a pig.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.