Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Serious Discussion
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-07-14, 03:14 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,757
Keyboard special chars

Well, unfortunately my native language has terrible chars such as äöü and i don't want to switch keyboard layouts all the time, so i decided to download
The Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator to make my own layout including these stupid chars.
ä = ctrl + ,
ö = ctrl + .
ü = ctrl + /
Ä = ctrl + shift + ,
Ö = ctrl + shift + .
Ü = ctrl + shift + /
€ = ctrl + '
ß = ctrl + ;

I managed to get it all running, unfortunately the functionality differs from application to application. In Notepad everything works flawlessly, in Word nothing at all, in Skype and Chrome some of them. Mainly because those programs already have other functions bound to those combinations.
Is there any way around that?

Also the standard US layout has those keys as well as alt + ctrl combinations, but none of them work either.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-07-14, 03:18 PM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,503
If you can't find a way around it, the shortcut Windows key + Space changes the keyboard layout quickly, at least in Windows 8. That's what I do for swapping between QWERTY and QWERTZ.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-07-14, 03:23 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remmy View Post
If you can't find a way around it, the shortcut Windows key + Space changes the keyboard layout quickly, at least in Windows 8. That's what I do for swapping between QWERTY and QWERTZ.
So does alt + shift. Trying to avoid that.
I suppose it would work just fine if i could assign things to alt + key but that isn't possible for some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-07-14, 03:44 PM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
So does alt + shift. Trying to avoid that.
I suppose it would work just fine if i could assign things to alt + key but that isn't possible for some reason.
Lol alt + shift is actually faster too, cheers for that
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-07-14, 04:25 PM
YouWhat's Avatar
YouWhat YouWhat is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: ›>« βα™Şη§ ζΔνε »<‹
Posts: 689
ASCII is what you want, and a list of the characters so you get the number eg

248 = °
230 = µ

All you do is hold down the left ALT button on keyboard and the type in the numbers on keypad (num lock needs to be on).

Attachments from http://www.asciitable.com/

Hope this solves things for you quickly and easily.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	asciifull.gif
Views:	32
Size:	27.3 KB
ID:	8738   Click image for larger version

Name:	extend.gif
Views:	32
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	8739  
__________________
Intel i7 4790K | Asus ROG Maximus VII Hero | 2 x Asus ROG Striker Platinum 4GB GTX 760 in SLI
16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400 | Corsair RM 850 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Obsidian 750D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-07-14, 05:00 PM
Snortan Snortan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 995
Get a macro software and use the ASCII codes as mentioned above. Use the macros as shortcuts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-07-14, 05:09 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouWhat View Post
ASCII is what you want, and a list of the characters so you get the number eg

248 = °
230 = µ

All you do is hold down the left ALT button on keyboard and the type in the numbers on keypad (num lock needs to be on).

Attachments from http://www.asciitable.com/

Hope this solves things for you quickly and easily.
Tenkeyless, no numpad. That is also even less convenient than pressing alt + shift.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snortan View Post
Get a macro software and use the ASCII codes as mentioned above. Use the macros as shortcuts.
The problem would still remain, the button combinations i want to use are being used by the programs as well. For example skype opens up the options window when you press ctrl + ,.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-07-14, 05:26 PM
Snortan Snortan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 995
Install autohotkey and use it to override shortcuts. Iirc it goes something like this
Quote:
^,::
{
SendInput {ä}
}
return
Copy it in a notepad and save as name.ahk and run it. It should ignore any application shortcuts and send ä instead.
Use ^ for ctrl, ! for alt, + for shift and # for win key.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.