Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-11-17, 12:53 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,143
Apple scrambles to fix a major security issue on their High Sierra OS

Apple is currently working to fix this flaw.



Read more on Apple's password flaw.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-11-17, 01:10 PM
GiantKiwi GiantKiwi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 106
And Apple's method of the "fix" doesn't work (ie through the GUI). Tried it on 3 separate machines at work this morning, and a system restart will reset the changes. Only way to guarantee it will retain the changes is to do:

cat /dev/urandom | env LC_CTYPE=C tr -dc a-zA-Z0-9 | head -c 60 | xargs -I rootpw sudo dscl . -passwd /Users/root rootpw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-11-17, 01:13 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,317
So you need to reinstall it? FFS. I had this issue with Sierra, too ! I upgraded the laptop to Sierra, then every sodding time I rebooted it said "You have just updated your firmware". Only way to make it go away was a reinstall. I've only just installed HS FFS. This is not why I bought an Apple laptop ! I didn't want the headaches LOL.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-11-17, 01:15 PM
GiantKiwi GiantKiwi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
So you need to reinstall it? FFS. I had this issue with Sierra, too ! I upgraded the laptop to Sierra, then every sodding time I rebooted it said "You have just updated your firmware". Only way to make it go away was a reinstall. I've only just installed HS FFS. This is not why I bought an Apple laptop ! I didn't want the headaches LOL.
I added some clarification to the end of my post, but clearly not quick enough - just run this in terminal:

cat /dev/urandom | env LC_CTYPE=C tr -dc a-zA-Z0-9 | head -c 60 | xargs -I rootpw sudo dscl . -passwd /Users/root rootpw

As you should never actually need the root password, having it generate a random password won't be an issue. It's just one of the many quirks with macOS's GUI ACL, post Lion.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-11-17, 01:42 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,317
I will be back on mine Friday. Thanks for posting that, will do it when I get to my mother's
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-11-17, 06:50 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Give root a password to temporarily stop the issue. Especially if you remote in to your Mac from home/work

In terminal type:
sudo passwd -u root



The patch is out btw. Not that half the Mac users in the world ever seem to update their devices. Although the same could be said for every OS..
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-11-17, 08:33 PM
ajoy39 ajoy39 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Patch is out
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208315
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.