Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-07-17, 11:14 AM
coffeefoot coffeefoot is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 256
D-5 question

I'm wondering if I could run a D-5 pump off of the fan header on a GTX 1070 ?

__________________
Asus Maximus XI Hero Z390,8086 K, 16 G.Corsair DDR4 L/P 3600MHz, 2 WD Black M.2 Nvme 500 GB. x 2, Corsair HX 1000, Gygabyte 2080 OC, Noctua D-15, LG 34UC80-B

Ultrawide.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-07-17, 11:36 AM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,516
Vario or PWM?
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-07-17, 12:04 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,564
Why would you even want to?
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-07-17, 12:22 PM
coffeefoot coffeefoot is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolemac View Post
Vario or PWM?
I have the new Alphacool D-5 PWM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Why would you even want to?
I'm considering two separate loops with a D-5 in each. Cpu loop will run off of the normal motherboard pwm header, for the gpu loop, I'm hoping I can run the pwm part from the gpu. Yeah overkill. what else is new.
__________________
Asus Maximus XI Hero Z390,8086 K, 16 G.Corsair DDR4 L/P 3600MHz, 2 WD Black M.2 Nvme 500 GB. x 2, Corsair HX 1000, Gygabyte 2080 OC, Noctua D-15, LG 34UC80-B

Ultrawide.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-07-17, 05:41 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
are you talking about alphacools new VPP755 model?? keep an eye on them if you are. I had 1 of each version fail on me rather quickly. The rev 1 the impeller kept popping off the retaining clip. The rev 2 would sometimes not turn on with the system.

I wouldnt worry about trying to control the pump via pwm off the gpu, for one it will look like crap with a wire hanging off the gpu like that, secondly the temps you'll get just running water on a gpu will not change much if any at all by running the pump faster. For most we find a set and forget speed to be equally superior to having the pump ramp up and down. All you get is more pump noise without any difference in temps.
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-07-17, 05:44 PM
coffeefoot coffeefoot is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post
are you talking about alphacools new VPP755 model?? keep an eye on them if you are. I had 1 of each version fail on me rather quickly. The rev 1 the impeller kept popping off the retaining clip. The rev 2 would sometimes not turn on with the system.

I wouldnt worry about trying to control the pump via pwm off the gpu, for one it will look like crap with a wire hanging off the gpu like that, secondly the temps you'll get just running water on a gpu will not change much if any at all by running the pump faster. For most we find a set and forget speed to be equally superior to having the pump ramp up and down. All you get is more pump noise without any difference in temps.
Thanks for the info. Duly noted.
__________________
Asus Maximus XI Hero Z390,8086 K, 16 G.Corsair DDR4 L/P 3600MHz, 2 WD Black M.2 Nvme 500 GB. x 2, Corsair HX 1000, Gygabyte 2080 OC, Noctua D-15, LG 34UC80-B

Ultrawide.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-17, 06:14 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeefoot View Post
I have the new Alphacool D-5 PWM

I'm considering two separate loops with a D-5 in each. Cpu loop will run off of the normal motherboard pwm header, for the gpu loop, I'm hoping I can run the pwm part from the gpu. Yeah overkill. what else is new.
Then run one D5 off the cpu fan header, and run the other one off the "optional" cpu header.

You motherboard should have 2 of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-08-17, 11:29 AM
B NEGATIVE's Avatar
B NEGATIVE B NEGATIVE is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Then run one D5 off the cpu fan header, and run the other one off the "optional" cpu header.

You motherboard should have 2 of them.
Not advised due to current draw.

Most mobo's have a HiAmp header now for pumps specifically.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.