Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 14-01-10, 02:39 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
My Virgin net is fine, 20mb service with phone and TV.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14-01-10, 04:59 PM
Pseudonym Pseudonym is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol
Posts: 953
I pretty much always have the lowest ping on the servers I play on.

I get the odd disconnect and when it goes bad, it's very bad, but that only happens every 3-4 months. I can live with it.

They've also just upgraded me to 10mb and cut the cost.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14-01-10, 09:25 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,621
seems to be just a problem with 50mb broadband,but sky FTW
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14-01-10, 10:56 PM
Pyr0 Pyr0 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 845
oops, forgot to test earlier, lol

__________________
Intel i7 950

Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R

3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws PC3-12800

AMD HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC

Asus Xonar DX

Crucial C300, Vertex1, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's

Corsair AX850

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1



Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15-01-10, 09:08 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Just to check: are you guys all talking about cable broadband, or ADSL?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15-01-10, 02:43 PM
noobieocer noobieocer is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
arg i had virgin 8mb/s adsl before.... originally i thought they only cap you if you use ALLOT, but 3 months went pass and only used for web surfing since it was too slow to do anything else.... at this point i just noticed after the first 2 days i never seen the internet even remotely close to what i was paying for, it was worser than my old aol dsl connection... like they put my internet on cap forever! i just switched to be*
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo [email protected] @ 1.7v, 72c load

MSI Neo2-FR Intel P35, Inno3D Nvidia 8800GT 512MB

4Gb OCZ PC2-8500 [email protected] 1066MHz, Samsung F1 750GB

Antec 900, TRUE w/Yateloon 38mm
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17-01-10, 10:30 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Just to check: are you guys all talking about cable broadband, or ADSL?
my guess is its a mixture xD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17-01-10, 11:26 PM
Runebeard's Avatar
Runebeard Runebeard is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Somerset
Posts: 591
I've got a mate with Virgin 20Mb cable and they told him they were gonna start limiting his connection cos he was using so much bandwith!

Like Sky they also have that weird 'shared usage' bandwith, so at peak times of the day they cut bandwith a little for larger connections so everyone has a fair share. My Sky at Uni drops from 15Mb at 2am to a measly 5-6Mb at peak times

At home (Somerset) the Orange connection may be an average 8Mb but at least it's constant and never drops.
__________________
That's how we roll in the shire.

Core i7 930 / Asus Rampage III Gene / Corsair HX850 / GTX670 / Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18-01-10, 02:25 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
Virgin ADSL has gone to heck because they layed off their site in newport (where I worked) and moved everything to swansea where all the staff are customer services calltakers who have been given a few hours training on ADSL. Within the weeks after the transfer they had 3 times more staff than in newport and 10 times (literally) calls queuing to speak to the support staff (who know nothing). The repeat call rate went up from about 18% to 60%ish

Tweaker, are you on cable or ADSL? If ADSL let me know what exchange you're on and whether youre on an SMPF (C&W ADSL2+) or IPStream Max (BT 8Mbps ADSL) if you know. Can't see you're uploads because I'm in work but I'll have a look when I get home.
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18-01-10, 04:51 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Could you guys on virgin do a ping test during peak hours, say 8pm. That's when my mates connection goes tits up. I'm on BE, 24MB unlimited for £22 a month isn't bad at all. I don't even think there's a fair usage policy.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.