Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-06-20, 12:35 PM
TalllPaul's Avatar
TalllPaul TalllPaul is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pais Vasco - Spain
Posts: 364
PC isn't booting up

I have a weird problem with my PC, I think it is a motherboard problem but before splashing the cash, I thought I'd check in here incase it is something else.

My PC the other day froze, so I had to turn it off holding the power button. After this happened it wouldn't restart until I removed my R9 390 GPU and Windows 10 was running very slow after this, so I decided to restore to an earlier restore point.

It was all going great using the integrated GPU but I decided to try installing my R9 390 again, once I restarted Windows froze again and now my PC won't boot to POST or BIOS, all the fans run, I can feel the HDD running but I get no monitor output neither with the integrated chip or the R9 390 on two separate monitors.

After I restored Windows 10 I did a memtest and an HDD test and they all passed.

I have tried the following:

+Removing all components and replacing them.
+Tried booting up with just the RAM (and CPU ofc)
+Tried leaving the battery out and the PC unplugged for well over an hour.
+Trued CLEAR CMOS

But the same still happens, the PC turns on, all fans work etc but I get no BIOS or POST so I can't even boot from USB.

I am thinking it is the motherboard, what do you think? I have no parts to try other components.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-06-20, 10:44 AM
cooperman's Avatar
cooperman cooperman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK/west-mids
Posts: 812
Sounds more like a the psu is failing have you tried a different one?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600,Patriot Viper 4 16GB 2x 8GB 3200 Ghz,Gigabyte B450M DS3H,Patriot BURST 480GB SSD x2, MSI 5700, Aerocool White Aero One Mini Eclipse, seasonic m12ii 620w,Deepcool gammaxx 400 v2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-06-20, 06:57 AM
TalllPaul's Avatar
TalllPaul TalllPaul is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pais Vasco - Spain
Posts: 364
No, I haven't got one at hand I suppose it would be cheaper getting a PSU rather than another Motherboard lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-06-20, 03:53 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,371
I just had this happen to me yesterday. A fail to pass POST and switch to Windows. My PC froze during use and had manual power off by holding power button.

Culprit was a dead external hard drive.

How I found it out was I unplugged absolutely everything from the PC except one of my monitors. Let it boot and I got a bios error and had to hit F1, did that, went to manually boot into Windows, then everything went back to normal, until I restarted it. Then it was the same process. Fail to pass POST. Repeated the steps of plugging in one cable at a time in every port and eventually came to the conclusion I lost 2TB of backup data :/

So I would try the easy stuff first. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-06-20, 03:54 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,789
Yeah USB stuff can cause issues like that.
__________________



If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-06-20, 08:03 PM
TalllPaul's Avatar
TalllPaul TalllPaul is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pais Vasco - Spain
Posts: 364
I disconnect everything, the monitor flashes on (sometimes) like it is getting a signal and then goes off again and shows nothing on screen.

I might add this happens sometimes, the majority of times all the fans kick in, the keyboard light turns on but nothing happens.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-20, 06:38 PM
TalllPaul's Avatar
TalllPaul TalllPaul is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pais Vasco - Spain
Posts: 364
UPDATE: Got a new PSU today, no luck, must be the Motherboard then.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-07-20, 06:07 PM
TalllPaul's Avatar
TalllPaul TalllPaul is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pais Vasco - Spain
Posts: 364
So thought I'd update. I got a new PSU and it still didn't work so I got a motherboard and now windows loads but, for example, if Discord is loading and I open chrome, the PC turns off.

Not sure what else to do lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-08-20, 09:58 AM
TalllPaul's Avatar
TalllPaul TalllPaul is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pais Vasco - Spain
Posts: 364
UPDATE:

Found a new motherboard and the PC booted up, if I have the R9 390 in though it doesn't so I got a new GPU aswell and now all is good, seems like a dud motherboard and GPU at the same time.

Weird.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.