Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-06-20, 10:39 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,992
AMD's Ryzen 9 3900XT, Ryzen 7 3800XT and Ryzen 5 3600XT has been listed at retail

French retailer confirms AMD's 'Mattise Refresh'



Read more about AMD's rumoured Ryzen 9 3900XT, Ryzen 7 3800XT and Ryzen 5 3600XT processors.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-20, 05:20 PM
Giggyolly Giggyolly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 227
-They're going for a 7/7 launch.

-3900xt & 3800xt will have 4.7 boost.

-3600xt will only have 4.5 boost

-they're coming in at the same RRP as the "X" models launched at last year.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-20, 05:39 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,453
Both Intel and AMD are cheating with their "max boost". CPUs are tuned to burst just before executing a task so that you see the reported frequency. Rest of the time they are on much lower frequencies. I hope these ones can sustain much higher clocks.
__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-20, 06:06 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
Both Intel and AMD are cheating with their "max boost". CPUs are tuned to burst just before executing a task so that you see the reported frequency. Rest of the time they are on much lower frequencies. I hope these ones can sustain much higher clocks.
That's still fairly useful for frequency dependent use cases. Gaming and Photoshop come to mind.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-20, 08:53 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
That's still fairly useful for frequency dependent use cases. Gaming and Photoshop come to mind.
Not what I meant. For example if you look at single-threaded task graphs CPUs will boost to max (4.6 AMD, 5.3 Intel) for a fraction of the second, just to say they did it and then continue executing tasks at a much lower speed.

Edit: Here is the image. No actual work was done at the advertised frequency. Just a bit boost before and after so that HW Info could repot max frequency of 4.6. And single-threaded tasks are executed at 4.3-ish GHz.

__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-20, 09:50 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,722
I see, I fully agree id the window is literally exactly or under a second. I thought it lasted a bit longer, in 10 second range, where it could kick in for the brief periods when GPU no longer was the limiting factor.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-20, 10:16 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,171
It isn't so black and white.

You need to be in high performance mode. Disable some low power stuff, LLC, EIST, etc.

On AMD might be a little different. I just know on Intel I can force it's default turbo and have it stay there until it's max temp is increased
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-20, 12:38 AM
Kleptobot's Avatar
Kleptobot Kleptobot is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
It isn't so black and white.

You need to be in high performance mode. Disable some low power stuff, LLC, EIST, etc.

On AMD might be a little different. I just know on Intel I can force it's default turbo and have it stay there until it's max temp is increased
Not sure if I'm misinterpreting what you're saying or not, but i wouldn't call LLC a low power option
__________________
delided 3570k (watercooled)
hd7970 (watercooled)
8GB Gskill XM
3*140 SR1 Rad
all stuffed in an FD arc midi
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-20, 01:05 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleptobot View Post
Not sure if I'm misinterpreting what you're saying or not, but i wouldn't call LLC a low power option
Was just listing different BIOS options. Sorry for the confusion I see how you read it that way
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-20, 08:46 AM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,915
What I will say though, is that a fraction of a second is an age for microprocessor(You could fit over a billion instructions in a fraction of a second now), and the first instructions, before the pipeline has filled, are the slowest to execute, so boosting to counteract that and get to a filled pipeline quickly makes sense for speed & efficiency reasons. I think it's disingenuous to say this does nothing, for most general tasks it probably boosts for the whole execution window and for larger tasks it probably boosts until after the pipeline is filled, both would have some measurable impact(With the right tools anyway) , just not a huge one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.