Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-10-14, 04:56 PM
Smizzlopi Smizzlopi is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 33
Koolance release reference GTX 980 water block

For those of you who took the plunge and invested in a GTX 980, you may be looking for a way to slide it into your custom water cooling loop. With the card itself only released 2 weeks ago, the ever popular EK were straight out of the block (pun intended) with their solution. For those looking for an alternative, you are in luck. Koolance have decided to release their own water block for reference GTX 980 cards.



Unlike others, Koolance have decided to offer a single variant. This isn't necessarily a bad thing as it's built with a nickel-plated copper block, an Acetal top, a 0.5 mm micro-fin structure over the GPU area for heat dissipation. It also covers the memory and VRM circuitry and comes with the popular G1/4" fittings. Because of this, chances are, if you already have a custom loop, this will be compatible.



It's available to order now, if you don't mind waiting for delivery from the US and bulk orders (for SLI configurations) do provide small discounts. If you wanted to order direct, head over the Koolance website. Prices, excluding delivery, start at around £80.

Source: Tom's Hardware

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-14, 08:24 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,296
Nice article, it read very well.

As for the block, I prefer full cover water blocks.
__________________
|i5 4460|16GB RAM|1660S|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-14, 08:36 PM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadShadow View Post
Nice article, it read very well.

As for the block, I prefer full cover water blocks.
errrrrr,that is a full cover block
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-14, 08:43 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by nepas View Post
errrrrr,that is a full cover block
Sorry, my bad. I guess what I meant to say is that I prefer a more solid, plain block with a simple shape.
__________________
|i5 4460|16GB RAM|1660S|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-14, 08:48 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
you mean a brick with an ice cube glued to it?
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-14, 08:53 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadShadow View Post
Sorry, my bad. I guess what I meant to say is that I prefer a more solid, plain block with a simple shape.
He means he perfers a full cover waterblock that covers the whole PCB and not just 80% of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-14, 08:56 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
Nice, does anybody know more than me about what cards 980 blocks will fit? Do they fit reference 970's, and are all of the blower coolers considered reference PCB. It seems all like a bit of a grey area right now and hardly any blocks are actually available.

EK list compatibility with quite a lot of different 980's like the ACX and HerculeZ but also randomly the 970 HerculeZ. By great assumption is it likely 980 blocks will fit 970 ACX's too, obviously it won't fit a G1/Frozr/Strix.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-14, 08:57 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
i thought 780's fitted 970's??
not sure where i read that.
and i assume they dont fit 980's..
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-14, 09:19 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles1980 View Post
i thought 780's fitted 970's??
not sure where i read that.
and i assume they dont fit 980's..
I've just had a look at the PCB's on EK's site and the 970 is very different to 780/980's for a start all of the power delivery stuff is at the IO end. The HerculeZ X4 is a bit of a weird one because its a 970 using a reference 980 PCB and seems to be unique. There's no way a 780/Titan block would fit either the 970 or 980. It looks like each will have it's own exclusive block and for now the reference 980 blocks will only fit reference 980's including exclusively the HerculeZ X4 970.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-14, 09:33 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
glad i havent been running arround stating what i read as fact then lol..
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.