Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-07-19, 04:56 PM
p1987 p1987 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Wales, Port Talbot
Posts: 110
Flashing standard RTX to Super

Hi,

I wonder if in theory you could flash an RTX 2080 to RTX 2080 super ?

This is suppose could work for the 2060 & 70 models too ?

What has Nvidia been like in previous generation restriction ?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-07-19, 05:03 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,211
It would be impossible for you to flash a 2070 to a 2070 super since they are using completely different dies. So not sure where this logic is coming from and your source is probably just trolling you.

As for the 2060 flashing I highly doubt Nvidia would let you. They are smarter than that and 99% likely lasered out the faulty dies.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-07-19, 05:17 PM
p1987 p1987 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Wales, Port Talbot
Posts: 110
Hi,

I wouldn't say it was logic or being trolled - curiosity if anything .

I see. In this case if they are using a different die then it would be impossible.

Would be great if it was possible - would give their original buyers a nice little boost and not make them feel as if they arn't being left out.
__________________
Ryzen 7 2700x 4.1ghz boost - Gigabyte X470 Ultra gaming Gigabyte 2080 Aorus (1940 -14900) - XFX 750w True Power PSU - 16GB Corsair 'RGB' Vengance RAM 3200mhz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-07-19, 05:18 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by p1987 View Post
Hi,

I wouldn't say it was logic or being trolled - curiosity if anything .

I see. In this case if they are using a different die then it would be impossible.

Would be great if it was possible - would give their original buyers a nice little boost and not make them feel as if they arn't being left out.
You're being left out. You can trust me.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-07-19, 06:05 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,355
You might be able to flash 2070 super to a 2080 (same die)
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-07-19, 06:21 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,867
No Nvidia graphics cards come to mind when I think of GPU "unlocking". It's typically something that only worked with AMD kit.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-07-19, 07:07 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,405
Yeah NVidia usually fuses off their cores(Physically destroys the connections in silicon essentially), AMD usually do too but for low cost chips AMD often save money by just disabling them in the BIOS. Generally, if cores are disabled(Fused or not) it's because most of the silicon made for that SKU has non-functional cores and they didn't consider it worthwhile making a separate SKU for the dies with full functionality, so even then it's just pot luck whether an "unlock" would work.

Of course, NVidia has used the same TU106 die for the RTX2060, RTX2060S and RTX2070 now, the differences lie purely in what they fuse off[Though for the OG-2060 the fusing off of some of the memory bus also meant some PCB/memory changes], so from a market perspective they can't really leave the possibility open for unlocking.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-07-19, 07:09 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
No Nvidia graphics cards come to mind when I think of GPU "unlocking". It's typically something that only worked with AMD kit.
GTX 465 to 470 though they soon put a stop to that and the FX5900 - 5950u come to mind.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.