Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-02-16, 11:21 AM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Microsoft changed my Windows Update setting

I just open my start menu and i see updates waiting to get installed so i check my Windows Update settings and it was changed to Automatic updates when i had it set to the 3rd setting.

So i think Microsoft has release some automatic update that changes the update setting i my book that is really low, I guess Microsoft is going to get people on Windows by any means necessary.

Has this happen to anyone else running Windows 7/8.1.

I'm not happy atm

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-02-16, 11:41 AM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Nope. It hasn't changed it on my windows 7 laptop (although that is running W7 refurb pc so I don't think its an upgradeable version) and my 8.1 desktop has always had automatic updates. If this is about avoiding windows 10 for now you can just hide the update and it won't do anything except maybe download the update.

It also hasn't changed on my VM of win 7 64 bit.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-02-16, 11:41 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,764
I'm still currently on 8.1, haven't taken the jump onto Windows 10 yet.

As far as I know, I have everything on auto lol... Might just have to re-think everything now that I'm gonna reinstall Windows 8.1.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-02-16, 11:44 AM
Mysterae's Avatar
Mysterae Mysterae is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 969
Kind of the same thing, I noticed that Windows 10 is now considered an "update". If I hadn't checked what updates were about to be installed I'd be on the perilous path towards 10.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-02-16, 11:46 AM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Nope. It hasn't changed it on my windows 7 laptop (although that is running W7 refurb pc so I don't think its an upgradeable version) and my 8.1 desktop has always had automatic updates. If this is about avoiding windows 10 for now you can just hide the update and it won't do anything except maybe download the update.

It also hasn't changed on my VM of win 7 64 bit.
I can't hide them cause they have been downloaded and waiting on me to restart the computer, This was the first time in over a month since i went into Windows Update, When i did a clean install of Windows back in November last year that was one ofd the first things i did was to change Windows Update to Manual Updates, Now as of today it has been changed to Auto, I have been told by people of other forums not to run Windows Update as Auto.

The setting has been changed in the last 12-24 hours......Oh i think what might have changed it.....faceplam
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-02-16, 11:46 AM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
10 was moved from an 'optional' update to a recommended update recently. I'm expecting to get my work cut out as more people accidentally upgrade.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-02-16, 11:53 AM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
10 was moved from an 'optional' update to a recommended update recently. I'm expecting to get my work cut out as more people accidentally upgrade.
Could a program change the Update setting namely Windows Live Essentials, I'm thinking now that could have changed the setting.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-02-16, 12:28 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by King of Old School View Post
Could a program change the Update setting namely Windows Live Essentials, I'm thinking now that could have changed the setting.
Yeah when you launch a microsoft product it'll ask if you want to change your update settings as that is how Msoft programs get updates. It'll change it to reccomended updates and updates for other microsoft products unless you click 'no' when it prompts you.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-02-16, 12:42 PM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Yeah when you launch a microsoft product it'll ask if you want to change your update settings as that is how Msoft programs get updates. It'll change it to reccomended updates and updates for other microsoft products unless you click 'no' when it prompts you.
Makes sense but i don't remember seeing a pop up about it i've just un installed all of the updates that were downloaded today, funny thing is i don't see Windows 10 as a recommended update but, i remember there were some updates showing up in Windows Update but i can't un installed them for some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-02-16, 03:05 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,203
It'll download the Windows 10 update but it won't automatically install. It just downloads part of W10 so the upgrade process is faster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.