Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Drivers & BIOS
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-10-14, 02:25 AM
Hostile's Avatar
Hostile Hostile is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to Hostile Send a message via Skype™ to Hostile
NVidia Maxwell/Kepler BIOS editing/unlocking thread. GTX 2XX to 9XX now supported.

So I've been unlocking NVidia Graphics card BIOS's for over 8 months now (In another forum) and I decided to bring my services and expertise here and help you folks out.

I've unlocked/edited the BIOS of over 200 NVidia graphics cards which allows for easier and further overclocking with less restrictions so here it goes:

No magic tricks here. I'll be using KBT (Kepler BIOS Tweaker) 1.27 to modify the BIOS. It can look a bit intimidating, so if you don't want to mess with any of the settings, post your BIOS here and I'll modify it for you.

The general modifications include a higher TDP (Removes throttling from 7XX series cards) and unlocked core voltage of 1.21V. For 6XX series cards, I can also set the maximum boost clock so that your card will run at that specified clock speed under load. Memory clock can be set the same way for both GTX 6XX and 7XX cards.

Post your BIOS here with the modification that you want done on it and I'll help you out.

For Maxwell cards, I will be using the MBT (Maxwell BIOS Tweaker - No, it doesn't mean Main Battle Tank ) 1.31, the successor to KBT.

-------------------------

Now offering BIOS editing for GTX 5XX, 4XX, and 2XX cards!

To edit the BIOS of these NVidia cards, I will be using NiBiTor 6.06.

I can unlock 1.21V for 500 and 400 cards (Risky if you don't have good cooling!). It's a bit different than 600 and 700 cards in that I can specify a range for the core voltage, i.e. 1.05 to 1.21 volts for 400 and 500 series cards. You can set the voltage to whatever it is that you're comfortable with. Voltage control for the Fermi cards is a lot more flexible than Kepler based GPUs.

For 200 Series cards, it may or may not be possible to change the voltage, but most of them go as high as 1.2 volts depending on what the vendor has set the limit to. These are much older cards so I don't expect a lot of people running them in this day and age. Still, nice to be able to get the most out of your old hardware.

As for core and memory clocks, I can set them to the exact values that you want. I can also specify the RPM range for the fan (Usualy between 20 to 100%).

-------------------------

Instructions

Remember that you're doing this on your own risk. I won't be held responsible for bricked or damaged hardware.

You can extract and save your graphics card's BIOS by using GPU-Z which can be downloaded from here:

http://www.filehippo.com/download_gpuz/

The link is constantly updated with the latest version of the program.

Upload it somewhere and I'll edit it and post back the modified BIOS.

-------------------------

The easiest way to flash the new BIOS to your card is with the Windows version of NVFlash.

Simply drag and drop your new BIOS on nvflash.exe and click "Y" when prompted. Restart your PC after the process is finished and your new BIOS will be in full effect.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-10-14, 02:44 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Nice read that dude, very informative and helpful and kudos for including the Bricking Warning.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-10-14, 04:38 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,199
Wow that seems super simple... but will the card always run at what you specify? Even if would be unstable otherwise?

Got anything for AMD users though?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-10-14, 05:09 PM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,770
I thought you were supposed to disable the dispaly adaptor in device manager to make the flash work,otherwise nvflash fails(or so it seems from another forum).
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-10-14, 05:12 PM
Hostile's Avatar
Hostile Hostile is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to Hostile Send a message via Skype™ to Hostile
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Wow that seems super simple... but will the card always run at what you specify? Even if would be unstable otherwise?

Got anything for AMD users though?
I don't set clocks to anything unstable. It's up to the end user to determine what frequencies their cards will be stable at.

For Radeon cards you can use a program called VBE. Lastest version is 0.0.7b, but that program only supports cards up to R9 280X/7970.

------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nepas View Post
I thought you were supposed to disable the dispaly adaptor in device manager to make the flash work,otherwise nvflash fails(or so it seems from another forum).

Nope, you need not to do anything of the sort.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bios, fermi, kepler, maxwell, nvidia

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.