Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-10-16, 11:47 AM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,938
pc keeps restarting itself after i hit shutdown

So my pc did an update a few weeks back and since it has been turning itself on in the middle of the night. and its doing my head in becuase i have a lot of leds in it and at night when i open my b room door its like im commissioner gordon trying to summon batman. i have went in to device manager and i have disabled wake on all network stuf and all usb devices. if i go into the cmd i have no wake timers and there are no logs for a restart or anything. so far the only way i have been able to turn the computer off and get it to stay off is to hold in the power button. but i dont like doing that. ive disabled fast boot in the bios and the wake on lan etc so i cannot fathom a reason it is doing it.
ax1200i
asus edition 10
6900k
any advice would be much appreciated folks

__________________
6900k, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-10-16, 02:12 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,339
I think that Windows 10 turns on the PC in order to install updates or something like that.
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-10-16, 02:24 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,386
are you actually shutting the PC down or sending it to sleep? check your power settings including advanced options
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-10-16, 04:43 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,938
from shut down in the start menu every time
__________________
6900k, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-10-16, 04:46 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,268
A friend had this and had to RMA the mobo to fix it.

You could try unplugging everything that's optional and see if stops rebooting.
Check event viewer, see if there's anything relating to it rebooting.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-10-16, 07:51 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,938
dude . done even put that idea into my head. i might end myself.
__________________
6900k, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-10-16, 08:15 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkleDJackson View Post
dude . done even put that idea into my head. i might end myself.
It was a last resort as we tried everything, did fix it though.

You've just got to try and reduce the number of things that could be affecting it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-10-16, 09:32 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,062
Hmm. For the past few days mine won't sleep. I send it to sleep, it stays in sleep for about two seconds then comes on again :S
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-16, 03:35 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,938
i think it got it. for the past 3 nights it hasnt turned on. in the poser management screen there is an option that says something like change what power buttons do. in here there w a check box for enabling fast boot. i unchecked it. i had disabled it in the bios so i didnt think it wasd relevant but this in windows setting is the only thing i changed. fingers crossed. my gt72 laptop did it too for a while in its bag. i only found out when i heard a bloiwing noise. i opened it up and turned on the turbo fan. took 30 mins to cool it down
__________________
6900k, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.