Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-11-10, 10:28 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
alright so as a lot of you may know i have a HD 5870 msi lightning 2.

Set up: i use currently a Samsung P2770H monitor as a primary, i recently needed a secondary for programming purposes and they are NOT in eyefinity mode. my secondary monitor is an older Gateway 19" LCD monitor, and both of these monitors are plugged in via DVI. both monitors work perfectly as primary.

Problem: when both monitors are plugged in i get flickering on either the primary or the secondary randomly doing GPU intensive tasks. here is the catch, this never happens when i use a single monitor, if i unplug one the primary NEVER flickers. this also very rarely results in a driver crash.

Solution: does any one have one.

clock speeds are irrelevant as i already ruled that out.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-10, 10:49 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,978
Yeah thats normal There are 'fixes' but it requires you changing the idle clocks for the card in the bios.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-10, 10:54 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Same thing happened to me with CF 5770. Right PITA.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-10, 11:00 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Yeah thats normal There are 'fixes' but it requires you changing the idle clocks for the card in the bios.
yea that is what some other sites are saying to. i was hoping someone had found a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-10, 09:35 AM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
i fixed the problem. i just had to change a value in the Afterburner cfg file.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-10, 12:53 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by KING_OF_SAND View Post

i fixed the problem. i just had to change a value in the Afterburner cfg file.
do share then - LOL
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-10, 03:52 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
go to your program (x86) file find MSI Afterburner, open "MSIAfterbrner.cfg" in notepad. scroll down were it said "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" change the value from 0 to 1. this will disable all idle clocks and place your your GPU at 100% all the time as well as your voltages.

this also helps with stability with some of the higher clocks on msi lightning cards do to the VGA BIOS dipping the core volts and sometimes crashing the driver. with the value changed it no longer does this, i have checked with a multimeter and my core is constant at 1.350v at 1ghz core and 1300 memory.

but yea again it stays at the clocks you set which is fine for me since my room seems to hover around 9c in the winter here. summer time i may have to change it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-10, 05:02 PM
Daza Daza is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 261
I may add that this method won't work all the time on all cards. Ive got a 5970 and went the bios modded route which while seeming drastic is a piece of cake and my 2d clocks are 100mhz less than the 3d which are 850 mhz
__________________
MR D to you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-10, 05:18 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
i haven't tried it on a 5970, but it should work with all 5870s. and it should really be used on the lightning cards from msi, at least the 5870 lightning because of the voltage dips.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.