Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 05-12-18, 09:51 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Ahh right, I can see the core count being true but not the clock speed, Maybe 4.5GHz on 1 or 2 cores, But as long as I can get 4GHz solid on all cores then for me it's a winner.
Threadripper already offers that in fairness.

__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-12-18, 09:52 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BlondesVille
Posts: 12,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Threadripper already offers that in fairness.

Yep, So it shouldn't really be much of a stretch, As long as X370/X470 boards have got decent VRM's
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-12-18, 10:00 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Yep, So it shouldn't really be much of a stretch, As long as X370/X470 boards have got decent VRM's
That's what I was concerned about. How are AMD going to make sure that people with €80 B350 motherboards don't try and overclock a 16c beast to 4.5Ghz. I wonder will AMD segment things and demand users be able to meet certain requirements by locking certain CPUs out using the BIOS. Zen 2 CPUs will require a BIOS update so maybe motherboard manufacturers will be asked to provide BIOS's that support the beasts only to their higher end models. Dunno.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-12-18, 10:13 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BlondesVille
Posts: 12,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
That's what I was concerned about. How are AMD going to make sure that people with €80 B350 motherboards don't try and overclock a 16c beast to 4.5Ghz. I wonder will AMD segment things and demand users be able to meet certain requirements by locking certain CPUs out using the BIOS. Zen 2 CPUs will require a BIOS update so maybe motherboard manufacturers will be asked to provide BIOS's that support the beasts only to their higher end models. Dunno.

That would be a wise thing to do to save people from blowing up their boards.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-12-18, 10:23 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,570
Frankly I didn't even expect AMD to go much beyond 8 cores with Zen 2. But in retrospect it wouldn't make sense for them to remain at eight. If AMD can offer more than just an IPC gain (not to be snuffed at by any means), a clock speed boost (again not to be snuffed at), and refinement to the IF, why not? If they kept it at eight cores they'd not just run the risk of Intel responding with something powerful (10nm will eventually come), they'd also be missing out on a lot of income. The rumoured higher priced CPUs are going to have possibly higher profit margins. The 3850X is twice the cores of the 3600X but is more than twice the price.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-12-18, 10:28 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,135
I really do doubt they would be able to add this many more cores while maintaining the same power envelope WHILE increasing clocks by a whole 1ghz. All this within the same package alongside adding new specific transistors (for encoding, etc)is pretty far fetched. I could believe having one or the other but not both. Looking at the new Epyc stuff not only increasing core count but making each core bigger too. Really don't see how. Unless it's a 1 core boost but even then the power would be pretty high
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-12-18, 12:24 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,432
Too bad there’s just lacking mATX motherboards these days, that looks good and don’t have hintef colours of either white, yellow or red.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.