Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-12-18, 08:52 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,768
Microsoft is reportedly building a Chromium-based replacement for Edge

Is Edge about to be pushed off a cliff?



Read more about Microsoft's plans to create a Chromium-based browser.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-18, 09:42 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,151
For as much crap as I give Edge I been using it more lately as I've been building computers and stuff and using it after installing Windows even on slower machines than my PC it felt faster than my Chrome. Was impressed.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-18, 02:19 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Yeah if you don't need add ons or advanced features Edge does a very good job, it's lightweight & clean. But recently MS has been turning to integrating open source systems in place of their own proprietary ones more and more, it streamlines resources, reduces cost, and generally results in something more widely supported, less buggy & better performing. If getting EdgeHTML optimised for ARM was going to be an expensive feat that someone had already done better with an open source alternative there wasn't really much reason to go through all the pain.
__________________
Electrical engineer with a passion for rambling.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-18, 02:52 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,009
Man, if they ever sold a bare bones W10 variant without any phoning home going on out of the box I'd be chuffed.
__________________
i7 8700k 4.9GHz - 2x8Gb 3600MHz CL15-15-15-34 - GTX 970 - 512GB 850 EVO
<3 Linux, DXVK and 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-18, 08:53 AM
tgrech tgrech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 218
You can always just strip most of the stuff out before installation yourself with a remaster tool like NTlite.
__________________
Electrical engineer with a passion for rambling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.