Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-11-18, 07:47 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Smallest ITX case with PCIE riser for network card

Hello All,

Building a new home router based on pfsense and using : https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/QC5000-ITXPH/

I need the smallest ITX case possible with a riser for 2/4 port pcie ethernet.

Any ideas ?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-11-18, 08:19 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,280
What do you mean by "riser" exactly?...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-11-18, 08:42 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
So the network card can lye horizontaly instead of being upright, a 90 degree one. Most 1U server chassis have them.

This would be ideal but can't find one https://www.google.fr/amp/s/m.newegg...ampf=undefined
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-11-18, 05:46 AM
NickOmega's Avatar
NickOmega NickOmega is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cannock, West Mids
Posts: 669
antec 300 ? : link

Also look here to see if there are any other options
__________________


Ryzen 5 3600 -- Nvidia RTX 3060ti FE -- 16GB TeamGroup Dark Pro 3200mhz DDR4
MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon -- Corsair Force MP300 240GB
Seasonic Focus Gold 750 -- MetallicGear Neo Qube

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-11-18, 06:07 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickOmega View Post
antec 300 ? : link

Also look here to see if there are any other options
Thats pretty much what I'm looking for, design looks a bit old was looking for something a bit more smaller also, but thans for linking

Any others ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-11-18, 11:30 AM
sheroo's Avatar
sheroo sheroo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,232
You won't regret it, I built one a couple of years ago, based on an ASRock J3710M, in a 1u rack case. Disabled the on board lan, and bought a dual intel nic from ebay. It has worked flawlessly.

To compliment it I bought a ubiquiti wap. The combination beats the snot out of most wifi routers.
__________________
"All his life has he looked away... to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was."

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-11-18, 01:40 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickOmega View Post
antec 300 ? : link
Woah, thought you meant Antec Three Hundred at first.
__________________
i7 9900k - 16GB - 3080 XC3 Ultra - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-11-18, 08:32 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Cheers guys, just ordered the Antec ISK 300-150 (Black) and a quad port Intel I350 , now I just need a LCD screen that fits the 5.25 drive bay
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-11-18, 10:05 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Case, SSD & Network Card Just arrived

Put it all together, cannot hear a thing from it , and only pulls 35 watts from the wall.

Will post back with some throughput results.









Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-11-18, 10:12 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Bandwidth looking good, about 200mb/s more on the upload & download the same as the ISP box :

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.