Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 01-06-18, 08:40 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
nice bench score.
i am hoping to get similar results.
although i have bought 4x8 3866 tridentz, and hoping to get over 4ghz (4133+) with the kit.

what corsair ram (and timings) are you using?

EDIT: --------------------------------------

what cooling are you using?
I am using Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x8 3866 with stock timings but running them at 3733mhz as the IMC on the CPU does not want to go any higher. I could probably get a tiny bit more out of them by tweaking but with DDR4 this does not translate into much more performance, the biggest gains to be had are by concentrating on CPU clockspeed.


Cooling is a custom waterloop with 3 x XSPC AX 480 rads.

__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-06-18, 01:13 PM
Warchild Warchild is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,495
The only thing I see wrong with your build (and it has nothing to do with what you have done) is those cheap looks SSD braces above the PSU. Really dont like design. Wish they did it like Coolermaster C700P so you can show off the SSD more like this

Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-06-18, 02:33 PM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
i will not be using SSDs, the braces will be taken out.
i have a 1tb 970 PRO and a 512gb 970 PRO. (win10OS and OSXhacky)... then 8tb mechanicals for storage.

it's all about air-flow. this build has cost me over £5000

once everything has been put together (finally) in 3 days time, you'll see some pics of the finished rig, along with some benching.

-------------------
the awesome air-flow of the H500P 'should' create even better temps through the rad and components. it should also mean that i can lower the speed of the fans to make an even quieter PC - even at full load. (i hope)
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-06-18, 03:16 PM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
i will be looking at a subtle blue for the coolant.
probably, 1x drop of blue and 2x drops of UV, as the blue lighting with emphasize the colours more.


i have also ordered 2x Phobya UV LED strips... they should arrive in a few days. (from aquatuning.de)
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-06-18, 09:37 PM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
LED strips arrive 2moro.
but, atleast, for now i have these:



let's get the beast up and running.
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-06-18, 08:35 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690


__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-06-18, 08:53 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
the R6A is a PITA when you first have to configure it.

slow boot times
components not being recognized or syncing

but after what seemed like a nightmare of a night, i have final got the rig running like Ursain Bolt.

gone are the known boot issues (complaints are on many forums).
it boots to windows desktop in 16secs from the ON-switch (and that includes the POST).
the 970 PROs are phenomenal
the water loop is silent.

fresh installs of both WIN10PRO and OSX High Sierra took minutes instead of hours.

i still have the back off the case, as i am transferring all my storage over.
and then the cable tidying will be done by the end of the day, once the UV lighting is fitted.

the highest CPU temps i have had is 45C @4.7Ghz (stable)
can only get my memory to run at 3770

still more tests to do
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-06-18, 11:08 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,608
Glad she's all up and running nice for you dug!
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-06-18, 04:19 PM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
the phoyba UV LED lighting looks fugly.

the ARGB lighting and the white case blow the effect away / the effect isn't worth doing, even in a pitch black room.



i will post more pics as the rig evolves. but... for now, i am more than happy with it.

if Corsair made ML fans with the LL ARGB fan features, i would swap the Riing lighting... but they do not at the moment.
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-06-18, 04:35 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,356
Lesson one, anything Phobya makes is crap. Cheap, nasty, rebranded $2 crap.

I stupidly paid £7 for two LED strips and they were identical to the Chinese ones you get loads of for a fiver.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.