Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 15-12-17, 03:03 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I do miss my multiples. But I hated the way it was laid out as a desktop with the three screens combined. Start button was all the way on the left, etc. A PITA.

I'd love another two of these 32" though lol. Would be mental Dirt 2 was amazing over three screens..Or was it Dirt 3?

I have one on each screen. and the taskbar only shows the apps open on that screen too

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15-12-17, 03:05 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,809
Aye I heard it was about to be sorted out but too little too late I just couldn't live with it for desktop use.Shame, because the gaming was mind blowing.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15-12-17, 04:28 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I have one on each screen. and the taskbar only shows the apps open on that screen too
Really? On mine the taskbar is identical across my dual screens. Only thing that's different is the time/date/notification icons are on my main.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16-12-17, 01:11 AM
MacLeod's Avatar
MacLeod MacLeod is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,104
I have a second monitor that I use only for my monitoring programs. CPU temp, RAM usage, core usage, GPU monitor, clock and calendar. I don't think I could ever go back to just a single monitor.

As for the task bar and such, I use Display Fusion and it works great and makes it easy to configure it to where I have the task bar and start menu only on my main screen and the secondary screen has no taskbar and just the monitoring programs.
__________________

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• Acer Predator XB272 @ 240 Hz
Logitech G-Pro TKL ••• Logitech G MX518
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21-12-17, 10:31 AM
War Machine War Machine is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 332
First off sorry for taking so long to get back to everyone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Most RMA's are people that change their mind or dont understand that IPS monitors all have a certain level of back light bleed. Its just the way IPS works.
My question was more to do with dead pixels yes i understand that any monitor can get deal pixels but it seem like it was more common on gaming monitors esp the 34 inch ones, I didn't hear too much about dead pixels on the 27 inch monitors.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm still not sure what to do, But i deffo want to go back to a dual setup but i do have some more questions.

Is it better to stick with 2 monitors that are both the same resolution or can i possibility get away with 1 1440p & 1 1080p or does it just really come down to OCD.

Also (I think i know the answer to this one) but i will still ask this anyway, ACER or ASUS but as far as i know the ACER & ASUS both use the same panel but why is there a price difference between the two, Is it just simply cause you paying more for the ASUS just cause of the name brand.

There's another option now with BENQ but i think most people on this forum will say stay clear of BENQ.

Thanks again all.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21-12-17, 11:28 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by War Machine View Post
First off sorry for taking so long to get back to everyone.



My question was more to do with dead pixels yes i understand that any monitor can get deal pixels but it seem like it was more common on gaming monitors esp the 34 inch ones, I didn't hear too much about dead pixels on the 27 inch monitors.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm still not sure what to do, But i deffo want to go back to a dual setup but i do have some more questions.

Is it better to stick with 2 monitors that are both the same resolution or can i possibility get away with 1 1440p & 1 1080p or does it just really come down to OCD.

Also (I think i know the answer to this one) but i will still ask this anyway, ACER or ASUS but as far as i know the ACER & ASUS both use the same panel but why is there a price difference between the two, Is it just simply cause you paying more for the ASUS just cause of the name brand.

There's another option now with BENQ but i think most people on this forum will say stay clear of BENQ.

Thanks again all.
The ASUS Swift P278Q monitor had a complete S**t Storm of complaints relating to dead pixels. If it wasnt that it was a poor power supply plug which could no longer maintain 5V in standby. Sorry to say but there are far more complaints on 27inch than 34inch. However that could be down to 27 inch being more mainstream or more possessing this size screen as opposed to owning a 34"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21-12-17, 11:44 AM
War Machine War Machine is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
The ASUS Swift P278Q monitor had a complete S**t Storm of complaints relating to dead pixels. If it wasnt that it was a poor power supply plug which could no longer maintain 5V in standby. Sorry to say but there are far more complaints on 27inch than 34inch. However that could be down to 27 inch being more mainstream or more possessing this size screen as opposed to owning a 34"
Ugh, I just read what i type before and that made me sound dumb yet again.

I haven't heard as many complaints (if any) with the PG279Q compared to the PG278Q i have been doing some researched comparing both PG278Q & the PG279Q, To me it seems ASUS has improve on the problems that they had with the PG278Q.

Maybe another reason why that there was so many issues with the PG278Q was using a TN panel compare to the IPS panel that the PG279Q uses, But i'm not really sure.

TTL did say in the review that i watched "27 inch monitors are the sweet spot for gaming" or something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21-12-17, 11:46 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by War Machine View Post

TTL did say in the review that i watched "27 inch monitors are the sweet spot for gaming" or something like that.

1440p
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21-12-17, 11:50 AM
War Machine War Machine is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
1440p
Yeah that's what i meant 1440p 27 inch monitor.

Sometimes my fingers work faster than my brain when i'm typing cause i do forget to type words in.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21-12-17, 06:27 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Most RMA's are people that change their mind or dont understand that IPS monitors all have a certain level of back light bleed. Its just the way IPS works.
Most RMAs are people who don't know the difference between backlight bleed, and IPS glow. First one is bad, and the second is just the characteristic of IPS panels.

If you want to know more about monitors go to tftcentral.co.uk or some other similar site. Those guys use some properly expensive equipment to test them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acer, asus, dell

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.