Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 28-01-17, 11:46 PM
GrassyUK GrassyUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
If you are doing a bit of Photoshop then the 32GB
Yeah I should have mentioned I only use Photoshop occasionally.

This is slightly off topic but ill try be brief.

Case allows up to 168mm heatsink

Noctua d15 is 165mm dual fan, fan can be raised but will increase height.

Noctua in dual fan needs 32mm ram or less to clear.

The Kingston is 34.57mm and Corsair is 33.5mm

Should I get the corsair to be safe?, Wow I've never spent this much time thinking about ram.

__________________
Intel i7 7700k | 32GB Kingston Savage 2666 | ASUS Z270-A Prime| Noctua NH-D15 |Corsair 650w TX2 | Fractal Define C |G1 GTX 970 |
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-01-17, 01:25 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassyUK View Post
Yeah I should have mentioned I only use Photoshop occasionally.

This is slightly off topic but ill try be brief.

Case allows up to 168mm heatsink

Noctua d15 is 165mm dual fan, fan can be raised but will increase height.

Noctua in dual fan needs 32mm ram or less to clear.

The Kingston is 34.57mm and Corsair is 33.5mm

Should I get the corsair to be safe?, Wow I've never spent this much time thinking about ram.
Use the lowest ram you can and just raise one fan slightly, am i right in assuming you already own a D15 as if you don't then get an AIO the ram height dont matter
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=Asus ROG Swift=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29-01-17, 11:40 AM
GrassyUK GrassyUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
Use the lowest ram you can and just raise one fan slightly, am i right in assuming you already own a D15 as if you don't then get an AIO the ram height dont matter
Yeah the D15 is already on order too late to cancel. I didn't want an AIO because they are loud in comparison and less reliable.

I can't seem to find any "performance" RAM thats 32mm online at all. Odd.
__________________
Intel i7 7700k | 32GB Kingston Savage 2666 | ASUS Z270-A Prime| Noctua NH-D15 |Corsair 650w TX2 | Fractal Define C |G1 GTX 970 |
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29-01-17, 04:29 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassyUK View Post
Yeah the D15 is already on order too late to cancel. I didn't want an AIO because they are loud in comparison and less reliable.

I can't seem to find any "performance" RAM thats 32mm online at all. Odd.
Loud? Not at all.
Reliability? More room for error yes but still just as reliable.

Just pick up some low profile memory. Should be set.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29-01-17, 10:16 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,211
As NBD said they are in no way loud I cant hear mine and they don't put 7 year warranties on them for nothing and Corsair make LP ram just for those who have big air coolers
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=Asus ROG Swift=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 30-01-17, 05:37 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,195
Yeah could get some Corsair LP ram. Or just plain ram without heatsinks. That'll work too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kingston, memory, ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.