Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 31-08-15, 10:44 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
ATM with only 2 cards, YES. However 3 will be the limit. Though frankly if you are going to have 3, you WILL need to get a different case and watercool them, otherwise....

Why not just save yourself the extra effort later and get a more flexible case now? After all you said yourself you are more than likely to add more cards, of which would be impractical in the S340.

__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31-08-15, 10:46 AM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Fractal Define R5/ Define S/ NZXT H440?
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31-08-15, 10:51 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
I own all 3 and overall I like the H440 White/Black the most.

However if you want good airflow (no custom watercooling loop), definitely go for the Fractal cases instead.

If you are going to go custom I would suggest the H440 (quietest) or the Define S.

Though frankly if you are wanting to watercool potentially 4 titan Xs and an overclocked 5960X, you should get much more than a total of 720 rad space.
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24-09-15, 07:59 PM
jbonnett jbonnett is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aberystwyth
Posts: 32
I have just bought an Asus Rampage V Extreme, and I noticed two bent CPU socket pins... Well as Asus manage replacements even third party returns, do you think I can still get a replacement even if I attempt to fix the problem "temporarily"?

So I've managed to line the pins back up but they are not 100% it's hard to tell the difference, but it's definitely there... Check these images out to see what the pins were like:
Before fix:


After fix:


I guess the question is should I make the pins like they were again before returning or not?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24-09-15, 09:01 PM
Kilbane's Avatar
Kilbane Kilbane is offline
Hagrid Look-A-Like
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Abergavenny, S.Wales
Posts: 1,247
If you have only just bought the board, you could have just returned it to the vendor for a direct replacement. Anything within 28 days will be dealt with directly by the vendor. Personally i wouldn't have "repaired" the pins, can potentially do more damage than good.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25-09-15, 05:53 AM
Lazlo's Avatar
Lazlo Lazlo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 287
As far as I know bent pins are not covered under the warranty by most motherboard manufacturers.
__________________
"The road to hell is paved with good intention."
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25-09-15, 06:32 AM
jbonnett jbonnett is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aberystwyth
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazlo View Post
As far as I know bent pins are not covered under the warranty by most motherboard manufacturers.
My motherboard arrived that way...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 25-09-15, 07:48 AM
Lazlo's Avatar
Lazlo Lazlo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbonnett View Post
My motherboard arrived that way...
You can always try to RMA it. But I read of a lot of cases where they refused warranty. Especially Asus.
Have a look at this article http://www.gigabytenordic.com/bent-p...ered-warranty/
It's about Gigabyte by I would assume Asus has the same stance in this matter.

Unfortunatly you have to prepare yourself that in the worst case you are screwed.
__________________
"The road to hell is paved with good intention."
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 25-09-15, 08:18 AM
jbonnett jbonnett is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aberystwyth
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazlo View Post
You can always try to RMA it. But I read of a lot of cases where they refused warranty. Especially Asus.
Have a look at this article http://www.gigabytenordic.com/bent-p...ered-warranty/
It's about Gigabyte by I would assume Asus has the same stance in this matter.

Unfortunatly you have to prepare yourself that in the worst case you are screwed.
That's what I've done... The question was would they still accept it if I tried "fix" the problem...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27-09-15, 02:51 PM
jbonnett jbonnett is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aberystwyth
Posts: 32
What you guys thinks so far?


Getting better / more RAM soon, and three Titan X's...

Also has anyone had this problem before? I'm using the MSI 780 OC Twin Frozr and everytime I play a game (can be any game) the sound slows down and pops a lot, I have latest drivers, any ideas what's causing this?

Here's a video of the problem: http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=1z1a...8#.VgbaLxNViko
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, overkill, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.