Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-08-15, 07:39 PM
Trumpu Trumpu is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
GTX 980 TI 3 way SLI - Question to TTL

Hey guys and Tom,

I was going to ask you this at i55 but I'm not going this time. and I've been struggling to find a way to direct message you, obvious spam prevention reasons :P

But I'm currently building a new RIG based on Skylake, and i have the money to include 3 of the following:

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/6gb-e...mhz-cores-2816

I wanted to do something differant with the watercooling that i've not seen done, because I'm a tidy freak. BUT i can only imagine it's not been done before because it can't be done.

in my Case, Corsair Graphite 780T:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/corsa...r-case-w-o-psu

I want to route the loop in the back of the case with the cable management too, and what i would like to do, but I'm not sure it's possible is:

have the three cards in parallel and have the tubing on the bottom card's waterblock for the inlet and outlet, however i can understand that the water pressure could / would be too low to create circulation through the second / third graphics card waterblock.

the pump i have bought is:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/ek-d5...r-cooling-pump

If you can't understand the layout I'm trying to describe then i can attempt to draw a diagram to help describe what I'm asking, If it's possible.

I do predict the answer is no based on the lack of water pressure in the loop.

Cheers!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-15, 07:52 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,977
I dont like paralell graphics tbh

hose wise Im really not sure about up the back - thats going to be down to your abilities and what the case is capable of and not something I can really say too much about specifically


Pump wise its plenty btw - just do the GPU in series.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-15, 08:01 PM
Trumpu Trumpu is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
Cheers for the reply mate

Was just a thought, based on aesthetics really.

thanks for the advice bud! hope to see you at i56 I'll more than likley be bringing this new RIG

Posts merged - please do not post multiple times in a row

Is anyone able to answer if this block:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/ek-fc...-gtx-titan-x-9

would fit this card:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/6gb-e...mhz-cores-2816

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-15, 09:10 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
EVGA's Classified cards use a proprietary PCB with custom power delivery so a reference 980Ti/TitanX block would not be compatible.

Here is a comprehensive list of cards compatible with the block you posted - http://configurator.ekwb.com/waterblock/3831109830574



Exactly why Tom doesn't like parallel blocks i'm not sure but I certainly wouldn't consider that a good enough reason not to do it. I wouldn't hesitate to link a matched set of blocks in a parallel configuration, including a CPU block with a different restriction is another matter although still entirely plausible.

You have a slight misconception when it comes to the pump setup lacking the 'pressure' to deal with 3 parallel blocks. By linking blocks in parallel the restriction of the loop is effectively reduced as the water can take 3 different paths, because the paths are close to identical an equal amount of water will pass through each. If the 3 blocks were configured in series then all of the water would pass through every block thus increasing the restriction and reducing the flow rate.

A single D5 will easily be able to deal with the restriction of three blocks in series so there is no real advantage to either setup, the cooling ability will be very similar.


Series seems more appropriate for your plans as would only need two ports entering the back of the case from the blocks rather than four. There is no reason why you couldn't route the loop in the back of the case, it could work out very neatly. I think it is done occasionally but you generally just don't really 'notice'.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-15, 10:47 PM
Mysterae's Avatar
Mysterae Mysterae is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 969
I agree with JR, a parallel config would suit three identical blocks quite well, in terms of aesthetics and reduced restriction.

It's a bit like Ohms Law. Consider three equal resistors (gpu blocks) with a restriction (resistance) of an arbitrary value of 5. In series this adds up to 15 (Rtotal = R1+R2+R3).

In parallel the equation is 1/Rtotal=(1/R1)+(1/R2)+(1/R3), so 1/Rtotal=(1/5)+(1/5)+(1/5), Rtotal=1.667

In summary:
Serial = 15
Parallel = 1.667

That is considerably less resistance (restriction).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-15, 11:05 PM
Trumpu Trumpu is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks for your input, you have overseen why i spoke of loop pressure though, i spoke of it because i had the idea of having the input of the loop on the bottom card and the out take on the bottom card, thus the coolant would be fighting gravity to circulate up to the second and first GPU.

I will draw a diagram tomorrow to explain my idea, although I'm quite sure it's not plausible
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-15, 11:12 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,155
Gravity doesn't matter - the pumping height of the D5 is around 3 metres so unless you have a 10 ft tall case, the pump is more than capable of pushing coolant all the way to the top of it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-15, 11:20 PM
Trumpu Trumpu is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
Yeah that's still not what I'm saying, the GPU's would be in parallel, so wouldn't the fluid enter GPU 3, and exit straight away and never fill up to GPU 2 and 1, because of gravity and pressure.

I'll draw a diagram in the morning so everyone understands 100%. I would love to create the loop this way as i think it would look great!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-15, 11:22 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trumpu View Post
Yeah that's still not what I'm saying, the GPU's would be in parallel, so wouldn't the fluid enter GPU 3, and exit straight away and never fill up to GPU 2 and 1, because of gravity and pressure.

I'll draw a diagram in the morning so everyone understands 100%. I would love to create the loop this way as i think it would look great!
Not really because the restriction of the water passing through a GPU block is far greater than raising it 4cm so the restriction of each path is more or less the same.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-15, 11:38 PM
Mysterae's Avatar
Mysterae Mysterae is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 969
If you are concerned about your pumps ability to combat gravity, you need a different pump! However you have selected a D5 which is an excellent pump and more than adequate. Regarding "fighting" gravity - as your loop is (hopefully ) a closed loop you needn't worry. Check this out:



Different application but still relevant.

The only thing you must concern yourself with is that the pump is not self-priming and must be supplied water, usually by having it fed water from a reservoir.

A diagram never hurts but I think I know what your intention is - water in and out on the bottom graphics card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 way sli, gtx 980 ti, tinytomlogan, water cooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.