Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-05-15, 04:21 PM
Burlyleader Burlyleader is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10
Cool First Water Cooled Loop

So I finally invested in a water cooled loop. Instead of buying brand new parts I decided to go look on r/hardwareswap to see if I could find some water cooling parts, I found a XSPC Res&Pump Combo, Bitspower stubby highflow barbs, a 140mm Radiator, and a XSPC CPU block. I got all of it for only $100

So I thought I would share a bit of information with everyone about my experience upgrading to a custom water cooled loop.

So to start off previously I had a Corsair H60 with a push pull set up, that was cooling my AMD FX-8320 (OC'ed to 4.5GHz) when I was idling my temps would be around 35ºC or so and I went to a hardware store, purchased a few odds and ends and put it all together in a few hours.
This is a very simple loop that still needs alot more work and just a few more things but what blew me away was the temps I was getting with such a getto ass loop. My idle temps jump between 12ºC to 20ºC and under load it has never gone over 35ºC.


Images of the Getto Loop!
I'm just gonna make a link to a Imgur Album so they dont take up the whole post.
CLICK ME FOR THE IMGUR ALBUM


So I guess a but of advice, if you have a bit of extra money lying around and are bored and want to learn something new I would recommend watching a few videos and then going out and finding the required parts! I am forsure no expert on water cooling but if you are thinking about a water cooling loop feel free to message me or comment and make sure to check out r/hardwareswap.

Also if there are any water cooling Guru's out there that feel like giving me some advice on what to change or what I should do next feel free to let me know!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-05-15, 04:26 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
The cpu block looks bent... ?
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-05-15, 04:45 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,485
Hi there I bought an xspc kit and now I am just about to upgrade the pump to a D5 from the xspc 750 those kits are fine for just CPU cooling but most people want their loop to include their GPU as well

Edit: your cpu block looks overtightened to me buddy and in the 2nd picture I can see air bubbles in the loop
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-05-15, 04:53 PM
Damo666 Damo666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portsmouth.UK
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
The cpu block looks bent... ?
Defo looks like he has over tightened the block a bit
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-05-15, 05:31 PM
kilobravo kilobravo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via MSN to kilobravo
Either its(cpu-block) bend,but you need a replacement!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-05-15, 05:48 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilobravo View Post
Either its(cpu-block) bend,but you need a replacement!
He doesnt He needs to loosen the lower screw so that the block sits level
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-05-15, 06:29 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
yeah just needs to be loosened off a touch. hopefully it will spring back
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-05-15, 03:56 PM
Burlyleader Burlyleader is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
The cpu block looks bent... ?
It slightly is because when I got it off of r/hardwareswap the guy didnt care to send the back plate of thumb screws. Soooo I had to make due with what I had on hand.

Posts merged - Please use the multi-quote function

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolemac View Post
Hi there I bought an xspc kit and now I am just about to upgrade the pump to a D5 from the xspc 750 those kits are fine for just CPU cooling but most people want their loop to include their GPU as well

Edit: your cpu block looks overtightened to me buddy and in the 2nd picture I can see air bubbles in the loop
At the time I took those pictures the loop was not completely bleed yet and I know about the CPU block issue. I will be getting a new block soon.

Also what would you suggest if I wanted to add a GPU into the loop?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-05-15, 04:53 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burlyleader View Post
Also what would you suggest if I wanted to add a GPU into the loop?
A 240 mm radiator as well as your 140mm a laing D5 pump at least
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-05-15, 08:28 PM
Burlyleader Burlyleader is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolemac View Post
A 240 mm radiator as well as your 140mm a laing D5 pump at least
So if I wanted to get a new pump would you suggest a laing D5 pump and res combo or separate?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
corsiar, cpu, firstloop, temps, watercooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.