Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 06-01-15, 02:56 PM
rfm rfm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Well before we go into overheating, what components are you using? Something sounds broken to me.
Its not exactly overheating, it just gets very hot sometimes.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-01-15, 03:03 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfm View Post
Its not exactly overheating, it just gets very hot sometimes.
Care to explain more? :P What are you pc specs?
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-01-15, 03:25 PM
rfm rfm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Care to explain more? :P What are you pc specs?
Temps reach 40c+ sometimes, idle

heres my specs:

24GB GSkill DDR3 1333Mhz Ram
AMD-FX 8350 @4.0GHz
Gigabyte GTX 780 WINDFORCE 3X 3GB
Coolermaster 700w 80+ Gold
Windows 7 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-01-15, 03:28 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfm View Post
Temps reach 40c+ sometimes, idle

heres my specs:

24GB GSkill DDR3 1333Mhz Ram
AMD-FX 8350 @4.0GHz
Gigabyte GTX 780 WINDFORCE 3X 3GB
Coolermaster 700w 80+ Gold
Windows 7 Ultimate
On the CPU or GPU?

Do you use the stock cooler on your CPU? What software do you use to monitor your temps? Cause with an AMD CPU you should be using AMD overdrive, as other software doesn't seem to get it right.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-01-15, 03:32 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfm View Post
Temps reach 40c+ sometimes, idle

heres my specs:

24GB GSkill DDR3 1333Mhz Ram
AMD-FX 8350 @4.0GHz
Gigabyte GTX 780 WINDFORCE 3X 3GB
Coolermaster 700w 80+ Gold
Windows 7 Ultimate
Wait, so under load it hits 40c? What program do you use to measure temperatures. My ol' amd 8320's (running at stock 8350 clocks basically with a seidon 120M) load temperatures was around 45-50c. 55c is kinda where the cpu might start to throttle dependent on a few aspects.

AMD don't measure temperatures the usual way. The best program to measure it is with AMD's own program, called overdrive.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-01-15, 03:50 PM
rfm rfm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
On the CPU or GPU?

Do you use the stock cooler on your CPU? What software do you use to monitor your temps? Cause with an AMD CPU you should be using AMD overdrive, as other software doesn't seem to get it right.
Im using a single radiator cooling kit, the cpu is getting hot. the gpu is fine, and yeah im using overdrive. im just seeing what would be the best fan placement to get better temps

-----------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Wait, so under load it hits 40c? What program do you use to measure temperatures. My ol' amd 8320's (running at stock 8350 clocks basically with a seidon 120M) load temperatures was around 45-50c. 55c is kinda where the cpu might start to throttle dependent on a few aspects.

AMD don't measure temperatures the usual way. The best program to measure it is with AMD's own program, called overdrive.
load its more like 45+ idle its like 40.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-01-15, 03:55 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfm View Post
Im using a single radiator cooling kit, the cpu is getting hot. the gpu is fine, and yeah im using overdrive. im just seeing what would be the best fan placement to get better temps
Oh right yeah, that's what this thread was pretty much about I'm sorry...

40 is a bit high for an idling CPU yeah, how have you got it all plugged in? Are you sure that the pump on your AIO is running at full speed?

(PS: My Xeon 1230 V3 idles at 30-35 C with an H60 2013 Edition, but it's dead quiet cause the fan is set to a silent profile. I've not seen it go over 65 under full load.

Edit;
Please use the multi-quote button rather than double posting, thanks
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-01-15, 04:00 PM
rfm rfm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
Oh right yeah, that's what this thread was pretty much about I'm sorry...

40 is a bit high for an idling CPU yeah, how have you got it all plugged in? Are you sure that the pump on your AIO is running at full speed?

(PS: My Xeon 1230 V3 idles at 30-35 C with an H60 2013 Edition, but it's dead quiet cause the fan is set to a silent profile. I've not seen it go over 65 under full load.

Edit;
Please use the multi-quote button rather than double posting, thanks
Ive got two fans in push/pull on the radiator, top two pulling air out and the front two pushing air in

This was 5 mins ago, just browsing the web; http://i.imgur.com/8LILR72.png
fans are also on full speed

Sorry about that
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-01-15, 04:24 PM
RadeonHDx RadeonHDx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,069
Have you checked your mount, ie. have you tried taking your cooler off the cpu and then reapplying it with new thermal paste etc?
__________________
Intel Xeon E5649 x2 | Custom Water Loop
Saphire R9 290 Tri-X Edition | InWin Dragon Rider White
24GB Samsung RAM | SuperMicro X8DTi R2.0
Samsung Evo 250GB | 1TB Hitachi HDD


Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-01-15, 04:32 PM
rfm rfm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadeonHDx View Post
Have you checked your mount, ie. have you tried taking your cooler off the cpu and then reapplying it with new thermal paste etc?
Multiple times, Using arctic silver
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water cooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.