Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 26-08-14, 07:49 PM
Maraio1 Maraio1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamboOC View Post
Here is one for £29 with free delivery & brand new
Intel Celeron G1820
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-Celero...&keywords=1150

basically a haswell version of my ivy bridge cpu
So are you sure that this is the only way I'll be able to run a 4790K on a Maximus VI Impact, as the others above seem to think otherwise.
And thanks for the link

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-08-14, 07:58 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maraio1 View Post
So are you sure that this is the only way I'll be able to run a 4790K on a Maximus VI Impact, as the others above seem to think otherwise.
And thanks for the link
Won't really know until you try it. If it doesn't want to boot with the 4790k in it you could always grab a cheap celeron like suggested.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | i7 4790k | Maximus VII Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 16GB DDR3 | 512GB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26-08-14, 08:00 PM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Its the same cpu basically - it will run fine you dont have to update before hand but it is advised to get it done as soon as your rig is together (if youre buying a used mobo for example)
from my experience all motherboards would not boot unless the cpu microcode matching the cpu was whitelisted in the bios.
- if you did manage to do it, i guess that the haswell refresh cpu microcodes were the same as the haswell cpus????

Some motherboards offer flashing the bios via usb stick with incompatibile cpu, but i dont think that motherboard has that feature
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26-08-14, 08:02 PM
Maraio1 Maraio1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post
Won't really know until you try it. If it doesn't want to boot with the 4790k in it you could always grab a cheap celeron like suggested.
Thanks for all the information guys! Helped!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4790k, bios, z87, z97

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.