Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-07-14, 02:55 AM
EliteVX EliteVX is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
Question Haswell temperature?!

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to take your opinions about my system temperature after playing some time on Watch Dogs game:



No overclock has been done to anything.

Is that normal?

__________________
MOB: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
PSU: SeaSonic X Series X-850
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
CPU cooler: NZXT Kraken X60
RAM: G.Skill Trident X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB-) DDR3-2400
SSD: Samsung SSD 840 PRO-Series 128GB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 780 GHz Edition
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-07-14, 04:17 AM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
dont really see anything alarming. But without more details about your setup we can only speculate.
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-07-14, 05:06 AM
Cru's Avatar
Cru Cru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,488
i see a 4770k maxing out at 50C
the only thing that's wrong here is that you don't have that thing overclocked, cooling seems to be there
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-07-14, 05:23 AM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,282
50 degrees? Seems pretty much fine to me. Now go overclock that thing
__________________
|i5 4460|8GB RAM|R9 380 4GB|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-07-14, 08:23 AM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
all good, but where is the overclock? You're wasting your cpu atm, you have "K" edition so why not overclock it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-07-14, 08:51 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,928
whats the cooler, whats the volts?

If you say stock and mean auto then you have some work to do
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-07-14, 08:58 AM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

If you say stock and mean auto then you have some work to do
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteVX View Post
No overclock has been done to anything.

Is that normal?
^^^^^^
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-07-14, 12:24 PM
EliteVX EliteVX is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
Smile

@S_I_N My setup has been added to my signature in the first post.

@Cru @MaddenShadow @RamboOC I've tried overclocking my CPU before, but it didn't go well; apparently I have a bad batch. I will try it again now and report back.

@tinytomlogan AIO cooler: NZXT Kraken X60 and yeah it's stock on the first post.

Thanks everyone for commenting.
__________________
MOB: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
PSU: SeaSonic X Series X-850
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
CPU cooler: NZXT Kraken X60
RAM: G.Skill Trident X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB-) DDR3-2400
SSD: Samsung SSD 840 PRO-Series 128GB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 780 GHz Edition
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-07-14, 02:20 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,928
AUTO means its got way more volts than it needs
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-07-14, 04:57 PM
nexusmaniac's Avatar
nexusmaniac nexusmaniac is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 48
OP, 50 C isn't really a bad temp But as you're running at Auto it's definitely worth manually lowering your voltage, a stock 4770k should easily handle a 1v vCore.

Let me know if you want a hand in undervolting, it's relatively straight forward to do
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
haswell, temperature, watch dogs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.