Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-05-14, 04:59 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Upcoming build, any suggestions?

So I'm going to build a new rig mainly for gaming, PS and AE (and I want to OC the hell out of it). Budget is ~1500€

edited
CPU: i7 4790k ( Devil's Canyon )
RAM: Avexir Core Series 2133MHz ( yellow LED | 2x8GB )
MoBo: Gigabyte Z97X-UD7-TH
SSD: Samsung 840 Evo ( 120GB )
HDD: WD Black ( 3TB )
VGA: Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X
Cooling: Corsair H105
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Case: PHANTEKS Enthoo Pro ( Windowed Version )
Other: Corsair AF140 ( x3 ); Corsair SP120 ( x2 ); Corsair Cable Set
Parts List*

What do you guys think, should I change something or is it fine? And I really care about the looks as it's a windowed case, which makes parts choice a bit difficult imo

*I won't be buying all the components from this vendor, I'll always choose the cheapest

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-05-14, 05:04 PM
Cru's Avatar
Cru Cru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,488
if you're serious about editing i'd try to go with a 4770k or even stretch the budged for a 4930k
maybe switch the hdd to a wd black instead
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-05-14, 05:11 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cru View Post
if you're serious about editing i'd try to go with a 4770k or even stretch the budged for a 4930k
maybe switch the hdd to a wd black instead
The 4930k is unfortunately totally out of scope and if i go with the 4770k I'll have to take a step back on the graphics card. The absolute maximum budget is 2 grands, I really can't go any further and I would prefer a build around 1500€. And is there really a difference betweend the hdd's? I read somewhere that speeds are pretty much the same as longs as the drives use 1TB platters ..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-05-14, 05:27 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
MacLeod MacLeod is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,105
Wait til next month if you can. The Haswell refresh is coming out. Wont be any faster clock for clock but will overclock better since theyre supposedly fixing the TIM problem.

If it has to be now something like this for £1463 would be what Id like to have. i7-4770K, MSI GD65 Gaming motherboard, H100i, MSI Twin Frozr GTX780Ti that can overclock very well, high quality SuperFlower built EVGA power supply and one of my favorite cases, the NZXT Phantom.

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/3LIKY
__________________

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• Acer Predator XB272 @ 240 Hz
Logitech G-Pro TKL ••• Logitech G MX518
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-05-14, 05:35 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
Wait til next month if you can. The Haswell refresh is coming out. Wont be any faster clock for clock but will overclock better since theyre supposedly fixing the TIM problem.

If it has to be now something like this for £1463 would be what Id like to have. i7-4770K, MSI GD65 Gaming motherboard, H100i, MSI Twin Frozr GTX780Ti that can overclock very well, high quality SuperFlower built EVGA power supply and one of my favorite cases, the NZXT Phantom.

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/3LIKY
I thought Haswell Refresh's are already out? Or do you mean the K-Series processors?
Your build looks pretty good too, and as I don't need an optical drive and Win7 License (still got 2 left) it'll also fit my budget pretty much. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-05-14, 05:47 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
MacLeod MacLeod is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,105
Yeah, the K series are the ones that arent due out til some time in June. If you can save on not needing an OS or optical drive, you could really go all out and get something like this for £1554. I went with dual AMD R9 290's in Crossfire and bumped the power supply up to a 850 watt EVGA. This would give you roughly twice the gaming performance of that other rig albeit at a higher price. Youre talking frame rates in the 40's on Crysis 3 at 5760x1200!! Probably be the last GPU upgrade youd need for 10 years.

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/3LJhi
__________________

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• Acer Predator XB272 @ 240 Hz
Logitech G-Pro TKL ••• Logitech G MX518
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-05-14, 05:52 PM
Cru's Avatar
Cru Cru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Niar View Post
The 4930k is unfortunately totally out of scope and if i go with the 4770k I'll have to take a step back on the graphics card. The absolute maximum budget is 2 grands, I really can't go any further and I would prefer a build around 1500€. And is there really a difference betweend the hdd's? I read somewhere that speeds are pretty much the same as longs as the drives use 1TB platters ..
i'd really go for the i7 though
WD drives seem to be a bit more reliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
Probably be the last GPU upgrade youd need for 10 years.
oh come on...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-05-14, 06:15 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cru View Post
i'd really go for the i7 though
WD drives seem to be a bit more reliable.
I have a WD Black 1TB in my current rig and it's awfully loud imo. But yes, I will definitely go with an i7 but I'll wait for the Haswell-Refresh
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-05-14, 06:53 PM
Cru's Avatar
Cru Cru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Niar View Post
I have a WD Black 1TB in my current rig and it's awfully loud imo. But yes, I will definitely go with an i7 but I'll wait for the Haswell-Refresh
are you sure it's mounted properly? could just be vibrations being passed over to the case
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-05-14, 06:56 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cru View Post
are you sure it's mounted properly? could just be vibrations being passed over to the case
yes it is, and i know that these are not just vibration sounds, it only gets that loud whet i try to access it (read/write head scratches over disks) ... but maybe mine is just a bad/faulty one
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
990fx, amd, build, r9 290, ud5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.