Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
View Poll Results: Which AIO should I get?
Corsair H105 12 66.67%
NZXT Kraken X60 1 5.56%
Other 5 27.78%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 17-05-14, 04:35 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
Im using a H100 on my 8150 and its working great. Im at 4.5 GHz @ 1.39V and its good enough that I can keep it on low fan setting and it keeps my CPU in the low to mid 40's during gaming. The H100i is a marginally better cooler so I would second Vanner's suggestion for it based on my own experience which has been very good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
If you want to really overclock an 8350 to its very limit a h105 would be a good bet. IMO a swiftech H320 would have been perfect but they're a pain to get hold of.
You want a thick rad and decent fans. Thats my experience of a FX9590, which is basically a maxxed out 8350 . It started off with a h100i but the guy wanted quiet so he ended up getting a noctua NH-D14 cooler.
The H100i seems to be pretty popular. I think I'll go with an H100i or H105 (whatever is cheaper at the time of buying).I already have an air cooled rig with an 3570k cooled by an NH-D14 so this time I want to go with water (unfortunately custom loops are a bit too expensive :/).
Thanks to everyone for the help!

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17-05-14, 04:37 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Niar View Post
The H100i seems to be pretty popular. I think I'll go with an H100i or H105 (whatever is cheaper at the time of buying).I already have an air cooled rig with an 3570k cooled by an NH-D14 so this time I want to go with water (unfortunately custom loops are a bit too expensive :/).
Thanks to everyone for the help!
Wait, are you getting an AMD rig as well or as a replacement?
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17-05-14, 04:39 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Wait, are you getting an AMD rig as well or as a replacement?
I'll keep the Intel rig (atleast for now, I'll probably be giving it to my brother later on), why?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17-05-14, 04:40 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Niar View Post
I'll keep the Intel rig, why?
Oh right, no worries then :P.
H100i should be fine, besides I don't know if you can actually still get 8350s that do the full 5ghz.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17-05-14, 04:42 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Oh right, no worries then :P.
H100i should be fine, besides I don't know if you can actually still get 8350s that do the full 5ghz.
I'm sorry for the noob question, but how come?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 17-05-14, 05:06 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
MacLeod MacLeod is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Niar View Post
I'm sorry for the noob question, but how come?
AMD doesnt make a 8320, 8350, 9370 and 9590, they (actually Global Foundries) makes just one 8 core chip. The ones that only have 4 rock solid cores become FX-4300 chips. The ones that only have 6 rock solid cores become FX-6300 chips. The ones that have all 8 cores nice and stable but cant do much more than 3.5 GHz become 8320's. And in the beginning, the highest quality chips capable of 4+ GHz became the 8350's. Now with the 9370 and 9590's, AMD took the highest quality chips, the ones that were capable of 4.7 clocks and branded them as the 9590 and 4.4 became the 9370. So the 8350's now are no longer the highest quality chips, theyre just the ones that are guaranteed capable of hitting their stock numbers, 4 GHz and 4.2 GHz turbo.

So bottom line, the chances of you getting a 5 GHz capable 8350 are lower now because all the highest quality chips that are gonna have the most overclocking potential are being sold as 9590's and 9370's when before, ALL the chips capable of more than 4 GHz were sold as the 8350.
__________________

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• Acer Predator XB272 @ 240 Hz
Logitech G-Pro TKL ••• Logitech G MX518
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17-05-14, 05:16 PM
.Niar .Niar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
AMD doesnt make a 8320, 8350, 9370 and 9590, they (actually Global Foundries) makes just one 8 core chip. The ones that only have 4 rock solid cores become FX-4300 chips. The ones that only have 6 rock solid cores become FX-6300 chips. The ones that have all 8 cores nice and stable but cant do much more than 3.5 GHz become 8320's. And in the beginning, the highest quality chips capable of 4+ GHz became the 8350's. Now with the 9370 and 9590's, AMD took the highest quality chips, the ones that were capable of 4.7 clocks and branded them as the 9590 and 4.4 became the 9370. So the 8350's now are no longer the highest quality chips, theyre just the ones that are guaranteed capable of hitting their stock numbers, 4 GHz and 4.2 GHz turbo.

So bottom line, the chances of you getting a 5 GHz capable 8350 are lower now because all the highest quality chips that are gonna have the most overclocking potential are being sold as 9590's and 9370's when before, ALL the chips capable of more than 4 GHz were sold as the 8350.
Oh okay.. I wanted to go with an 8350 because I thought it was incredibly good for its money and you could bring it easily to 4.8GHz or higher ..
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17-05-14, 05:29 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
MacLeod MacLeod is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Niar View Post
Oh okay.. I wanted to go with an 8350 because I thought it was incredibly good for its money and you could bring it easily to 4.8GHz or higher ..
It still is a very capable CPU and you should still have no problem overclocking to 4.5 or 4.6. Just 5.0 is going to be a little optimistic for one nowadays. Honestly though, if youre building from scratch, Intel is the way to go. Im a long time AMD fanboy so that hurts to say but is the truth. If youre needing to save a few bucks or just prefer AMD you can still have an extremely capable rig with a FX chip but if youre not trying to skimp on the budget and youre after the most performance you can get, Intel is your only choice from now on cause AMD has pretty much given up on the performance CPU segment. There are some rumors of something in 2016 but who wants wait around another 2 freaking years?
__________________

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• Acer Predator XB272 @ 240 Hz
Logitech G-Pro TKL ••• Logitech G MX518
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19-05-14, 09:36 AM
RobCrezz's Avatar
RobCrezz RobCrezz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Essex
Posts: 105
H105 > H100i
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19-05-14, 10:18 AM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
How come nobody is asking what case he is using? The H105 might not even fit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
corsair, h105, kraken x60, nzxt

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.