Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-03-14, 11:37 PM
irconfus3d irconfus3d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
power supply advice

hi,

i'm planning to build a new computer but i'm having problems chosing a power supply. I though a corsair RM 750W would be enough, but after reading and searching on the internet some people said i wouldn't be enough to power all of my components and some people said it would be enough... My budget for the powersupply is around 120 euro's
components in my build:

i7-4820k
msi big bang x power II
2 x msi gaming 780 Ti
16gb ddr 3 RAM
H100i
Samsung EVO 250gb SSD
2 x 2TB seagate barracuda
corsair 750D
7 fans in total

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-03-14, 12:03 AM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,700
In my opinion, drop the i7, go for the i5 instead and then use that money to get a good power supply, do not skimp on one, EVER. Since this system is prettymuch for gaming from what i understand you really do not need an i7.

However.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-03-14, 01:41 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,353
Is this a gaming build? If so you can easily stick to the 1150 socket instead of 2011.. save a bunch of cash and can a high end PSU worth using with this rig.

But we need to know what you plan on using this computer for as games generally won't stress the system as much as very heavy editing software will.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-03-14, 03:11 AM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,700
Oh its 2011 system, i completely looked over that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-03-14, 08:23 AM
irconfus3d irconfus3d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
I'm going to use my new system for both heavy software modeling( mainly houses)
and for gaming. But it's more for moddeling than gaming.

Maybe i should drop the second 780ti and put in a 3930k...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-03-14, 09:03 AM
remember300 remember300 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dagenham
Posts: 2,292
you would be fine with a standard i7 mobo, dont see why you will need 2011,
i have an i7 3770 and its held up fine with every bit of CAD software ive got my grubby mits on.

id go for an msi gd65 or maybe one of the m power range depending on colour requirements.

keep both the cards and go for an rm850 which should give you plenty of headroom for your cards, still allow you to run sli, and looks pretty while still coming hopefully under budget.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-03-14, 12:53 PM
irconfus3d irconfus3d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
I already have some of the components on
my current system like the 780 ti, RM 750,h100i and the case

I bought the 750w powersupply for sli in mind but i didnt had the
780ti at that time. But now my power supply won't be enough to go
780 ti sli

Maybe it's better to wait for the new intel cpu's?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-03-14, 01:06 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
I'd be surprised if you could pull 700 watts peak with all of that stuff, it's not exactly a sensible amount of headroom but I reckon it would be 'just' enough with limited-no overclock. The most I can pull out of the wall with two 780 Classys (pretty power hungry) and a 4820k is about 630watts and my old reference 780's could barely break 560watts. Your extra hard drives may add a bit but I can't see the 780Ti's being more power hungry than Classys @1241.

Is the CAD software you intend to use actually capable of utilizing GeForce GPU's? I was expecting my PC to boss Solidworks and it turns out it's only Quadro's and Firepro's that can do GPU rendering so being left with just the CPU it would have definitely been more productive to go for a hexacore. Still it's primarily a gaming rig so there's no chance of quadro's for me.

What resolution do you intend to game at? If 1080p a 4770k, 780Ti and then a workstation card might make sense?

JR
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-03-14, 03:44 PM
irconfus3d irconfus3d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
I'd be surprised if you could pull 700 watts peak with all of that stuff, it's not exactly a sensible amount of headroom but I reckon it would be 'just' enough with limited-no overclock. The most I can pull out of the wall with two 780 Classys (pretty power hungry) and a 4820k is about 630watts and my old reference 780's could barely break 560watts. Your extra hard drives may add a bit but I can't see the 780Ti's being more power hungry than Classys @1241.

Is the CAD software you intend to use actually capable of utilizing GeForce GPU's? I was expecting my PC to boss Solidworks and it turns out it's only Quadro's and Firepro's that can do GPU rendering so being left with just the CPU it would have definitely been more productive to go for a hexacore. Still it's primarily a gaming rig so there's no chance of quadro's for me.

What resolution do you intend to game at? If 1080p a 4770k, 780Ti and then a workstation card might make sense?

JR
Maybe you right and yes i'am playing on 1080p maybe 1440p in the future.
The program I will use is based on CAD software. It's for calculating the amount of tubing is needed for a house and al other hardware needed for heating and water.

So you think a 4770k with 780ti and a quatro gpu would be good for CAD and gaming? What mobo would be great? Depending on how many work i have i need to put more harddrives in,
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-03-14, 05:55 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,353
Well which CAD version is it? If it supports other cards besides the FirePro or Quadro then its worth getting 780ti SLI/290x Xfire(depending on OpenCL support). Otherwise if it was me personally i would just build 2 rigs.. one for workstation purposes and a different one for gaming. You have a big enough budget to do so and the gaming rig could be used while the workstation renders and stuff. Beats swapping out the GPU every day.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
780 ti, power supply, rm 750w

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.