Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-02-14, 09:19 AM
TheMadHatta TheMadHatta is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 26
Unhappy My god what have i done to my gtx 780 ti?! Help

So i got a gtx 780 ti with the evga super clocked setup that has the ACX air cooler on it. I was lucky enough to receive an NZXT kraken g10 early on since i pre ordered in the first week of december.

I ran into trouble with the screws being too short, another person on another forum helped me figure out that we need to remove the black rubber mini washers to get enough room which worked great, but i have another g10 on the way and another identical 780 id like to not ruin if i have indeed ruined this first one X(

Sorry for the lack of grammar...

So heres some pics, but first ignore the fact that the thermal paste isnt spread properly due to the acx cooler plate barely getting in the way which i might mod/fix. Im also including a photo of my normal cpu/gpu cleaning and heatsink replacing/swapping kit, the cloths are non alcoholic(wet) and lint free(dry and or both?) so i use those along with the arcticlean.










There is a clear trading card protector(hard) in this last pic, thats what i use for tinting the cpu surface, or at least i used to since ive moved from AS5 to prolimatechs PK3.


So what happened, is the card shot?
I believe (from what i read) that those are capacitors and i have to use some sorta non conductive thermal compound which the pk-3 is, and all those lil things around the gpu were caked in whatever the original compound evga used with the ACX coolers.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-02-14, 09:21 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,928
Im no expert but that doesnt look good.

Im not sure what you expect us to say when we are blatantly going to ask you if it still works?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-02-14, 09:24 AM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Yep. RIP. Looks like they got fried from static or something. personally I'd never have used the wipes.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-02-14, 09:27 AM
Rogster's Avatar
Rogster Rogster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Button Moon!
Posts: 342
have you tried cleaning it all up & putting the stock cooler back on to see if it works?? looks like bacon has been cooking in that corner :P
__________________
Intergalactic bunnies popping pills!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-02-14, 10:38 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
If you ran that GPU with the paste applied like that.. then it's been over-cooked.

That looks like an exploded cap or other component due to heat. I'd almost say it looks like the GPU has boiled it off and killed it.

That paste is nothing like properly applied. If you've run that card like that then I'm not surprised that it's exploded like that at all. This card is more than likely dead, and you're gonna have to take it on the chin, no-one will accept that back as an RMA either (before any of you even suggest it, that's fraud).

That right there is an ex-780Ti dude
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-02-14, 10:49 AM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,938
whatever you do do not do what you have don to the next one. leave it stock or return and get one you can get a proper block for and do it right. i usually do a test fit with new components to see what is required to get a good spread of paste. this isnt spread at all. does the acx have a proud section for making contact with the chip because that silver ring around the outside looks pretty much flush. i cant image the thing was even rigid the way the paste is. was it just flopping about on the card.
__________________
6900k, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-02-14, 10:53 AM
TheMadHatta TheMadHatta is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 26
of course i cant rma it lol, like id dare, but thanks for being so politely straight forward sub, and no im not being sarcastic.

i figured it was shot, weird thing is with the g10 the card still lets me boot up and run windows, it kept rebooting but im able to hang out in win7 normally, i bet ya anything itll crash the sec i run 3dmark tho.

how can i prevent this from happening on my other 780 or any other card for that matter?

on a side note, yes theyre bunked, saw smoke when i booted up, and i thought it was my cable routing so my dumb a** went and booted again, more smoke and burnt smell, and tried a 3rd time to locate it each time messing with cable routing cutting zip ties etc, thinking maybe it was under the acx cooler plate... X(

as for the thermal paste yeah i was mentioning it was not properly done since the acx cooler plate which i thought didnt block the g10s waterblock or what have you, actually is blocked partially but just barely by the acx coolers base plate, i had tested it with AS5 and no heatsinks but with the plate and the paste spread out perfectly but i can see now thanks to this whole ordeal that yeah.... pretty f***ed lol

anyways, what do you guys think about the base plate installed tho with the g10, say it didnt get in the way of the waterblock (like if i took dremel to the 4 tiny parts that get in the way, 99% of that base plate would remain intact, this way the g10 when properly installed cools the card well, the plate cools the vram and vrm and heatsinks are even applied on the base plate directly on top of the thermal pads that are between the vram & vrm and the underside of the acx cooler base plate... do you guys see any holes or possible problems in that last wall of text?

my plans atm are to install my other unopened kraken x40 on the card that still works after taking the dremel to the acx plate from the busted card, then to get another 780 ti probably with the acx cooler since its the same price on amazon and then do the same with that card...

opinions opinions opinions, bad or good, i need opinions, and of course ty ty ty for everything guys =)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-02-14, 10:54 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
the silver shim will be exactly the same height (or slightly lower) than the core. the issue here looks like it's colliding with the black metal plate, which has basically knackered it because it's cooked itself off.
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-02-14, 10:55 AM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadHatta View Post
my plans atm are to install my other unopened kraken x40 on the card that still works after taking the dremel to the acx plate from the busted card, then to get another 780 ti probably with the acx cooler since its the same price on amazon and then do the same with that card...

opinions opinions opinions, bad or good, i need opinions, and of course ty ty ty for everything guys =)
Get a basic 780ti, I know EVGA do a cheap one with their blower cooler. No point on getting the ACX if you're going to put a kraken on it...
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-02-14, 10:58 AM
TheMadHatta TheMadHatta is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkleDJackson View Post
whatever you do do not do what you have don to the next one. leave it stock or return and get one you can get a proper block for and do it right. i usually do a test fit with new components to see what is required to get a good spread of paste. this isnt spread at all. does the acx have a proud section for making contact with the chip because that silver ring around the outside looks pretty much flush. i cant image the thing was even rigid the way the paste is. was it just flopping about on the card.

ill include some new pics and edit one of my posts if someone doesnt reply before then, youll see that there are 4 posts going towards the gpu itself from the acx base plate, if the card had not come with the acx cooler what would have happened is the heatsinks would have gone right on the vram and vrm and the g10 block would fit perfectly onto the gpu... that was my first time using pk3, ive been using AS5 for ages till recently when i read how outdated and bad of a rep its getting on forums, ive read theres no such thing as too little thermal paste (i call BS but could be half true about AS5) and ive read theres no such thing as too much paste, i just didnt know how much was needed since every one says grain of rice and i did way more, and im not used to the thicker pk3 and no tinting of the surfaces, donno if tinting works for other thermal compounds besides arctic cools line of compounds/pastes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
evga, g10, gtx, nvidia, nzxt

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.