Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-11-13, 08:43 PM
panzerschreckGER panzerschreckGER is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Smile Help on "high value" ITX build

Dear overclockers,

as I'm new to the forum I'd like to use its advice section for the first time.
I'm from Germany and planning on an ITX build at a range of about 1500-2500€ which will be used as an office PC (including video editing and Photoshop work).
I'm already owning a mouse / keyboard / monitors and also have a copy of Win7 Ultimate x64 next to me. I want to overclock my CPU in a moderate way thus I have chosen an adequate cooler. I'm also going to use my Samsung 840Pro 120gig SSD as a boot SSD and add two more SSDs in 480Gigs for data storage.
Please concider that prices may vary in Germany and that these parts fit my price range with about 600€ space to the limit of 2500€

My shopping list as it is at the moment:

BitFenix Prodigy black

ASUS Maximus VI Impact mini-ITX

Corsair Dominator 16GB (2x8) @1866MHz

ASUS GeForce GTX760 DC Mini 2GB

530W BeQuiet Pure Power PSU (modular)

Corsair H80i

Intel Core i7-4770k @4x3.5GHz

Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB (2x)


My biggest concern is whether it will all fit in the case without squeezing it all together or bending parts over their strenght.
If it would fit like that, would it be possible to put a bigger GFXcard in there because it would be quite useful for editing and / or for gaming.


I'd really like every bit of advice from you guys and, since English isn't my native language, please excuse any grammatical or spelling mistakes.

Sincerely
panzerschreckGER

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-11-13, 09:06 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,210
Everything looks good except 2 things.

1st why not get a single big ssd instead of 2 small ones? Works far better that way and easier to manage(from expierence).

2nd go for a 280x. Not much more than a 760 and performance is far better than a 760.

PSU is fine but don't expect to overclock everything to their limits with that lower wattage power supply. All about the volts when you overclock. That will determine how many watts are actually being pulled.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-11-13, 09:17 PM
chrismjurd's Avatar
chrismjurd chrismjurd is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 386
you would be able to get a normal sized graphics card in there, all but the very biggest ones, you would have to remove the mechanical hd racks but is possible. just use the ssd trays in the off side door panel and job done.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-11-13, 09:52 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismjurd View Post
you would be able to get a normal sized graphics card in there, all but the very biggest ones, you would have to remove the mechanical hd racks but is possible. just use the ssd trays in the off side door panel and job done.
Erhm, pretty sure you can fit an HD 7990 in the Prodigy. You will have to remove the top HDD cage but it still leaves him with room for 2 drives in the bottom drive cage.

Oh, and you can fit an H100i in the Prodigy, which is only around €15,- more so you might as well do that.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-11-13, 10:10 PM
chrismjurd's Avatar
chrismjurd chrismjurd is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 386
after a quick check it seems you can get the beast that is a 7990 in it, wowzer, what cant you get in it what a case.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-11-13, 11:33 PM
Surfie's Avatar
Surfie Surfie is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 560
A suggestion, instead of the expensive ssd you could get a 1 or 2 TB sshd. I'm not sure what this groups consensus is on these, but I find they offer performance close to a ssd for access of os files and also have high capacity and are cheaper.
__________________
What we've got here is; failure to communicate...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-11-13, 02:29 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfie View Post
A suggestion, instead of the expensive ssd you could get a 1 or 2 TB sshd. I'm not sure what this groups consensus is on these, but I find they offer performance close to a ssd for access of os files and also have high capacity and are cheaper.
He has the money so mine as well make use of it. Besides ssds are far faster than a sshd.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-11-13, 04:30 AM
Surfie's Avatar
Surfie Surfie is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
He has the money so mine as well make use of it. Besides ssds are far faster than a sshd.
Well, sure he has the budget, but shouldn't he be made aware of all options available to him? A chance to save money shouldn't be ignored just because he had budget for it....

Edit: ssds are faster, sure. They are also more expensive and require more maintenance. Mechanical hard drives are cheaper and offer lots of storage and need less maintenance. Sshds are the middle ground in my opinion, and I find them quite good in general.
__________________
What we've got here is; failure to communicate...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-11-13, 06:17 AM
Lazlo's Avatar
Lazlo Lazlo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 287
If you are going for "high value" don't get a pure power. Go for a straight power, since dark power pro won't fit I guess. Pure Power is not a bad PSU, but it's beQuiet's lowest tier.
You should double check on the Dimensions though. Sometimes (but not as a generall rule) with the Prodigy it makes sense to use a psu without cable management, because it ads to the length of the unit cause of the connectors.

Greetings from Kiel
__________________
"The road to hell is paved with good intention."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-11-13, 06:28 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfie View Post
Well, sure he has the budget, but shouldn't he be made aware of all options available to him? A chance to save money shouldn't be ignored just because he had budget for it....

Edit: ssds are faster, sure. They are also more expensive and require more maintenance. Mechanical hard drives are cheaper and offer lots of storage and need less maintenance. Sshds are the middle ground in my opinion, and I find them quite good in general.
Ya true. I am actually getting my brother a 1tb SShd for xmas. It's only for storage and a limited number of games, which is the reason why i decided to give him that then spend another 400$ for a 500gb ssd. If it was me i would have spent that extra $400 simply because i only use ssds(personal preference) and space will never be an issue for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics card, high value, itx, ssd, video editing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.