Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-11-13, 08:07 PM
GussetPimp25 GussetPimp25 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 56
Gigabyte Z77n-WIFI Bent CPU Pins on arrival!

Hey guys, it seems to be a bad week, I just received my new ITX board for my latest rig and the CPU socket looks like it lost a fight to Mike Tyson, I've asked for a replacement but what are my chances of them doing so, or will they just blame it on me?

I bought it through Amazon so i hope they back me up but yeah here's the picks, I couldn't even try fixing it if i wanted to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	100.0 KB
ID:	7146  

__________________
Intel 3570K @4.6GHz
ASUS Maximus Formula V
H100i - Pull
8Gb Black Mamba Viper 2400mhz
GTX 570 SLI @ 900/1800/2100
Corsair Force GT 120Gb SSD
Corsair AX860
Corsair 650D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-11-13, 08:11 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Did that even come with the plastic cover on it?
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-11-13, 08:11 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,191
I don't see how pins get bent during or after production, they're too protected and are probably inspected before they leave the factory. The likelyhood of it happening is very minimal. And as stated above, was the plastic protector in place on arrival?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-11-13, 08:20 PM
GussetPimp25 GussetPimp25 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 56
Yeah the cover was seated properly and securely, I took it off and then I'm greeted with this. Here's a better angled shot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 3.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	7147  
__________________
Intel 3570K @4.6GHz
ASUS Maximus Formula V
H100i - Pull
8Gb Black Mamba Viper 2400mhz
GTX 570 SLI @ 900/1800/2100
Corsair Force GT 120Gb SSD
Corsair AX860
Corsair 650D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-11-13, 08:21 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Is this, by any chance, a used board?
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-11-13, 08:25 PM
GussetPimp25 GussetPimp25 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 56
I'm starting to think so, I bought it "New" as Amazon stated, in an Amazon box, which usually means its from a reputable seller, or so they say. If i was buying a used board i could understand the risk involved but not a new board, perhaps its just bad quality control at Gigabytes end?
__________________
Intel 3570K @4.6GHz
ASUS Maximus Formula V
H100i - Pull
8Gb Black Mamba Viper 2400mhz
GTX 570 SLI @ 900/1800/2100
Corsair Force GT 120Gb SSD
Corsair AX860
Corsair 650D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-11-13, 08:26 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,191
The pins that are bent are very spread out which is strange :/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-11-13, 08:29 PM
GussetPimp25 GussetPimp25 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 56
Yeah, I've had bent pins back in LGA 775 but this is a train wreck, and I'm starting to doubt if it is a second hand board as the metal bracing that comes into contact with the CPU isn't even scratched unless someone beat it up before even atempting to put a CPU in it.
__________________
Intel 3570K @4.6GHz
ASUS Maximus Formula V
H100i - Pull
8Gb Black Mamba Viper 2400mhz
GTX 570 SLI @ 900/1800/2100
Corsair Force GT 120Gb SSD
Corsair AX860
Corsair 650D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-11-13, 08:41 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,958
I doubt this is a Giga issue but please keep us posted on how you get on
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-11-13, 08:48 PM
GussetPimp25 GussetPimp25 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 56
Will do, just thought these bent pin days were over! How naive of me aha, but could be right about it not being a Gigabyte issue, just cant help but think though.
__________________
Intel 3570K @4.6GHz
ASUS Maximus Formula V
H100i - Pull
8Gb Black Mamba Viper 2400mhz
GTX 570 SLI @ 900/1800/2100
Corsair Force GT 120Gb SSD
Corsair AX860
Corsair 650D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cpu, gigabyte, pins, socket 1155

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.