Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-11-13, 07:38 AM
Debdibib Debdibib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Need help finding new RAM

Hello dwellers of oc3d, I am in need of upgrading my ram and was hopping you lot could help me pick some new modules for my pc.
I currently have 2*4gb 1600mhz corsair xms3 ddr3 modules and it is simply not enough anymore. Problem is I am sort of cramped for space in my pc and can not use any modules taller than these, since they are rubbing against my rad as is.

Current specs:
mb: msi z77 mpower
cpu: intel i7 3770k
gpu: asus gtx 780
ram: 8gb(2*4gb) 1600mhz corsair xms3
storage: corsair f120 120gb ssd, seagate barracuda 2tb 720rpm hdd
other: 800w fractal newton r2 psu, soundblaster z, custom cooling loop, nzxt h630 case.

I am looking for at least 16gb of ram, and faster than what i currently have. Any and all tips would be appreciated.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-13, 07:41 AM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
How much can you spend?

The popular choice right now are the vengeance series, good quality RAM from Corsair but if you can afford it, then Dominator Platinums sit at the top.
__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-13, 07:47 AM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,697
If you can wait a few days I will be putting some up on here for sale, Low profile vengence.in fact forget that you cant use diferent ram kits together can you sorry mate
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-13, 08:08 AM
vorticalbox's Avatar
vorticalbox vorticalbox is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp View Post
.in fact forget that you can't use different ram kits together can you sorry mate
yes you can... most people buy the same kit to keep looks together.

if you are going to use different kits "different makes and models" make sure they are the same speed and timings.
__________________
Photo Blog
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-13, 08:28 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,216
The vengeance low profile like mine would be a good choice
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-13, 08:40 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,477
It should be fine to get another kit of the same ram if you can find that for a reasonable price.

Why do you need faster ram?
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-13, 08:53 AM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by vorticalbox View Post
yes you can... most people buy the same kit to keep looks together.

if you are going to use different kits "different makes and models" make sure they are the same speed and timings.
ah ok then. well its the 1866mhz stuff it does 1600 at 9,9,9,24 tho
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-13, 02:59 PM
Debdibib Debdibib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
I dont need faster ram, but I'm thinking about going for 8gb modules, and it would not hurt to go for faster. And I have no real budget, say 3000-3500 sek(350-400€ or so) for 32gb and about half that for 16. Oh and yeah LP only as you can see its a tight fit even then.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-13, 06:28 PM
theDTP theDTP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp View Post
If you can wait a few days I will be putting some up on here for sale, Low profile vengence.in fact forget that you cant use diferent ram kits together can you sorry mate
He doesn't have access to the For Sale and Wanted section.
__________________
Intel i5 4670K | GIGABYTE Aorus 1080Ti Xtreme| 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H
OCZ ZT 750W | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | CM Storm Trooper | ASUS PG278Q | Corsair K95 RGB | Corsair M65 | H100i | WD My Book 2TB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-13, 06:50 PM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by theDTP View Post
He doesn't have access to the For Sale and Wanted section.
ah...noted mate, cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram, replacement, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.