Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Drivers
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-10-13, 03:44 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Question Black screen during game play.

hello everyone,
I have started having problems with my PC the last few months and I would appreciate any advice on how to fix them.
The problems i am experiencing are,

- Screen goes black when playing certain games.(Driver / Hardware issue)

- Sometimes my pc wont turn on without me switching it on and off at the socket.(Probably Faulty PSU)

I have read that it could be a driver problem or a hardware problem (PSU power delivery issue) or a Motherboard PCI-E issue.

If any of you have had the same problems and have fixed them id appreciate some solutions.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-13, 03:48 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Do you have any other PSU that you could try?
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-13, 04:03 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
Do you have any other PSU that you could try?
I don't but I can get hold of one, It will most likely be about 100w lower than the one i have though. I guess with issues like this i just have to troubleshoot until i find the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-13, 04:05 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
can ya post your full system spec fella?
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-13, 04:16 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
can ya post your full system spec fella?
sure,
Motherboard - ASrock extreme 4 z77
CPU - Intel i5-3570 / Cooler - corsair H100i
GPU - Gigabyte AMD radeon HD7950
PSU - Corsair AX850 gold / Blue Cable pack.
SSD - 120gb corsair force.
HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black x 2 , WD 2TB Caviar green
RAM - Corsair vengeance LP 16gb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-13, 04:27 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
You can try the stock AX850 cables? Doubt it's in the cables but it's worth a shot.
That system would run fine on a 650Watt PSU btw, so you can easily try your other unit.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-13, 05:28 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
You can try the stock AX850 cables? Doubt it's in the cables but it's worth a shot.
That system would run fine on a 650Watt PSU btw, so you can easily try your other unit.
Yeah I already swapped out the cables and it didn't help, I'l get back to you once I have tested my system with the other psu installed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black screen, graphics card, help please, motherboard, psu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.