Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-12-12, 07:03 PM
AdamSWE AdamSWE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Memory Bottleneck SLI GTX670

Hi!

This is preatty much my first post here so bear with me as i don't know alot of people also there is probably an answer to this somewhere around the forums.

I've got a 7970 and want to upgrade to something better as i've got a setup with a 5760x1080 resolution and one screen with 2560x1440 (for Eyefinity incombatible games). So what i did to get a couple of more fps was to buy another 7970 which was a terrible misstake! I plugged it in and booted up Battlefield 3 and there it was! the rumoured "microstutter"! it's much more terrible than i thought it would be. I gave the problem about 5 hours of searching around for a fix, i tried drivers, capped FPS and enabled vsync and nothing worked. So i decided to send it back and sell my old card, so now i'm thinking about buying two nVidia cards as tests tend to show that there is no (or atleast not as much) microstuttering with thoose, and that brings us to my question: will i get bottlenecks by the memory?

/Adam

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-12-12, 07:06 PM
Stevo's Avatar
Stevo Stevo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: England is my city.
Posts: 336
i think it goes something along the lines of. if you use two 670's that have 2GB each or whatever. it will only use 2GB, and not combine them.
__________________
"Do a barrel roll!" Star Fox 64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-12-12, 07:14 PM
AdamSWE AdamSWE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevo View Post
i think it goes something along the lines of. if you use two 670's that have 2GB each or whatever. it will only use 2GB, and not combine them.
yeah i know that! but as far as i've read the memory will bottleneck but at the level it does the fps isn't enjoyable anyway. I may be wrong, but that's why i asked
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-12-12, 07:20 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,138
2GB is plenty for BF3, you won't get any bottlenecks from a 2GB 670.

Read pages 147 -149 here

http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread....r-Chat/page147
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-12-12, 07:29 PM
AdamSWE AdamSWE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
alrighty I'll go for the 670's then! thanks for your input!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
670, 7970, graphics card, surround

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.